Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
These were pretty darn good. With a couple changes, the texture came out just perfect; they weren't too crunchy or too soft as other reviewers have stated. First, I replaced the oil with butter. I make a few different kinds of biscotti, and I've never seen a recipe call for oil. I figured the butter would be tastier. Second, to ensure a crucnchy yet not-too-hard texture, I mixed the ingredients according to most biscotti recipes I've tried. I mixed all the dry ingredients, incuding the sugar. Then I cut the butter into the dry ingredients until the mixture resembled course crumbs. In a seperate bowl, I lightly beat the eggs and the molasses together. I added this to the dry mix. I mixed this concoction until it was just combined. No overmixing! The dough should still be crumbly. I divided the dough in half and formed them into their log shapes on the cookie sheets. It's still pretty crumbly at this point, but it all firms up when you bake it. This looser dough allows the biscotti to cook up crunchy without being dense or hard. I think that's the reason some people ended up with tough cookies. You have to keep the dough kinda loose. Anyway, when I finsihed the baking process, I dipped them in white chocolate. Deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
598 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Firefly08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is a good recipe after I changed a few things from what other reviewers have said and from other biscotti recipes I use. I used 6 T marjarine instead of oil. I omitted the whole wheat flour and ended up using about 4 cups white flour to get the right consistancy. I also added a teaspoon vanilla and used 3 1/2 t. Pampered Chefs Cinnamon Plus instead of all the seasonings, it's just easier as it has all of them in it. Next I divided into 3 logs and rolled them in Raw sugar mixed with a little cinnamon then flattened them. It gave it a nice look after baking. The easiest way to make biscotti is to bake on a Pampered Chef Bar stone(yes there is a difference in stones) They won't burn and when you bake the 2nd time, you just stand them up about 1/2 inch apart and don't have to flip them. I'm not sure if I will do any white chocolate on them or not. They do look pretty the way they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
this may be the best biscotti I have ever had! I followed the recipe exactly (even the cooking time) and they came out perfectly. I don't know why some others had so much trouble. The dough wasn't sticky at all. Even my 6 year old had one with milk tonight and loved it! This is a keeper. Thanks so much Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Nice crispy, crunchy, spicy little treats. I followed the recipe as written with the oil, because butter is not normally used in genuine Italian biscotti, which never have a buttery taste. Those who think these taste bland might benefit from the addition of 1/2 tsp salt. Also, adding 1/4 tsp baking soda will keep the spices from giving a slightly bitter edge. If you want the spiciness to have a kick, 1/8 tsp black pepper or a couple of good shakes of cayenne will accomplish what you're looking for. I baked for exactly the time specified (25 minutes,) sliced and baked another 7 minutes per side. They came out properly light, dry and crunchy. Also avoided overmixing, which kept them from turning out tough. Painted the bottoms with white chocolate. Also, used half Splenda and half sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Look out Starbucks! This recipe is fantastic. I've made a lot of biscotti in the past, so I decided to use butter instead of oil (1/3C). To get the gingerbread into the right size logs I wet my hands and had no problem shaping them into the desired shape. I baked them for 20min, let them cool for 5min, then cut them and turned them on their sides, baked for 4 more minutes, and they were done. I drizzled white chocolate on them when cool. I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Maybe it's me, but I always like a little bite to my gingerbread so I add a dash (or two in my case) of finely ground black pepper. This is one cookie that I always get recipe requests for. And people are impressed that biscotti is not something that has to be purchased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I thought this was a great recipe. I did sub 1 stick of butter for the oil, Blackstrap molasses for regular molasses, used all wheat flour and rapidura suger instead of the white. I also followed "Firefly07"s instructions for how to mix it up They said "Second, to ensure a crunchy yet not-too-hard texture, I mixed the ingredients according to most biscotti recipes I've tried. I mixed all the dry ingredients, incuding the sugar. Then I cut the butter into the dry ingredients until the mixture resembled course crumbs. In a seperate bowl, I lightly beat the eggs and the molasses together. I added this to the dry mix. I mixed this concoction until it was just combined. No overmixing! The dough should still be crumbly. I divided the dough in half and formed them into their log shapes on the cookie sheets. It's still pretty crumbly at this point, but it all firms up when you bake it. This looser dough allows the biscotti to cook up crunchy without being dense or hard." Thank you Cristina & Thank you Firely 07..this is the first time I ever made biscotti and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
GREAT taste! I did use all purpose flour in place of the whole wheat flour as I didn't have any. The only other change I made was to lower the temperature to 325 degrees for the second baking. I put them in for 10 minutes on each side. The recipe was hard to follow because I had to make adjustments for the spices. They are written in fractions of a tablespoon and my measuring spoons are not that size. The ground ginger at 1 1/2 tablespoons would be 1 tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons...the cinnamon at 3/4 tablespoon would be 2 1/4 teaspoons....the ground cloves at 1/2 tablespoon would be 1 1/2 teaspoons..the nutmeg is fine! I hope this helps others so you don't have to figure it out. (and myself the next time I make it. lol) The biscotti is so good the recipe is still worthy of 5 stars! The aroma of this baking will knock your socks off! Thank you Cristina for sharing. It is being included in my assortment of biscotti Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Delicious and easy! Fills the house with the smells of Christmas! I dipped them in white chocolate melts, and hubby loved them! I did reduce the baking time, as they were burning a bit on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Very yummy biscotti, great in coffee, good with cream cheese cinnamon roll icing too. 25 mins cooking time was slightly long and I unfortunately didnt check it, but turned out ok, just slightly overcrispy and dark on the ends. I'll watch it more closely the last 5 mins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States