Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
These turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly and loved the texture and flavor. Based on other reviews I debated using butter instead of oil, but in the end opted to go with the oil. I am glad I did. The crunch was perfect and the cookie didn't crumble away when dipped in coffee. The only thing I would do different next time is make one loaf instead of two. They came out like mini biscotti, I like them a bit bigger (I would have to play with cooking time though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Made these last year for xmas and I will definately make these again this year. Was nervous that it was my first time trying a biscotti recipe but followed the directions closely and they came out perfect! Dipped them in white chocolate and added crushed peppermint sticks, the presentation alone was divine. Very fun to play around with different designs with the chocolate. Added these to my bag of treats to hand out to loved ones along with "Oatmeal Chip" cookie recipe on this site by Nancy Fridirici, made them with holiday green and red m&ms, so good! THanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I am not a fan of molasses or gingerbread, but after two years of a friend raving about these, I made them... and now I'm hooked! They are amazing! Definitely follow the changes Firefly 08 suggests. Okay, I'm going to go and eat some more :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
After reading some reviews I used butter instead of vegetable oil and these came out PERFECT! They weren't too hard or too soft and had the right texture. These were delicious and had the perfect amount of spice for my taste. Though I had no white chocolate on me I'm sure it would be a great drizzle for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My daughter used this recipe for county fair and got a purple, she qualified for the state fair and got a purple at the state fair! She followed the recipe exactly. She baked it on a pampered chef baking stone and drizzled it with melted white chocolate. Wonderful recipe Cristina, thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hubbard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
awesome flavor! i added a dash of black pepper to mine and dipped the in a simple powdered sugar glaze. next time i will decrease the initial cook time though from 25 minutes to 20 minutes as the edges started to burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anibas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterboro, Maine, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
baked this for a friend, but the biscotti burned at the edges and i had to cut them off. added 1/4 tsp ground pepper, 1/4 tsp more nutmeg and 1/2 tsp salt, and it still was pretty bland. was not impressed, waste of my ingredients and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I didn't really care or these. Need more of something, but not quite sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
5 stars with these changes: Use bread flour (not wheat or all purpose), add (in addition to oil) 1 softened stick of butter, add 2 level teaspoons of pepper, a little more cinnamon, (and don't be afraid of a little more of the other spices depending on what you favor). The temperature was fine. 28 - 30 minutes initial cook, let cool completely, cut and recook 8 minutes, cool completely and even leave out to harden some more- then store. *The pepper is needed to give it that spice you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
My family and I didnt care for this. Spices were a little off and was more hard than crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States