Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Good, but not the best biscotti I have made. The dough was VERY sticky. I baked mine at 350 for 35 minutes and only made it into one long log and it was perfect in texture and color. My husband and I found them to be somewhat of a bitter after taste. Next time I would switch out the oil for butter (prefer it in my biscotti) and add a bit of cream of tarter for the slight bitterness and definitely another 1/4 cup sugar. True Italian Biscotti never uses butter only oil, but we prefer it done with butter. Happy cooking to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Loved this recipe! I was a little hesitant about using the oil, based on other reviews, but they turned out great! I only baked for 4 minutes per side for my second baking. The dough is very crumbly when you first lay it out on your baking sheet, but it does bake up nicely. I drizzled mine with white chocolate to which I added a few drops of lemon extract. Nice combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe. As others have mentioned, they're not super-spiced, but I think that makes more sense for biscotti, as they don't tend to be super-sweet cookies. Dipped in milk or coffee, they taste like Christmas. However, mine didn't turn out crispy; they're more dense and a bit chewey. I have another biscotte recipe that calls for doing an initial bake at a lower tempt for longer, and I may try that next time to see if I get a more biscotti-like texture. And a warning: These really spread out during baking. It's not a negative of the recipe, but I wish I had known that in advance because I would have made my logs narrower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
They were delicious, but be careful as they burn quickly (watch them on the second baking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe is a keeper as-is. Made a batch this morning following directions as printed. They came out great but missed a bit of a kick only because I had one tablespoon of ginger left in the jar. I'm making another batch this afternoon (bought some ginger) and plan to spice it up with more ginger, some crystallized ginger and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I woke up this morning to this recipe in an e-mail from Allrecipes.com, and thought it sounded easy enough for vacation baking. I am SO glad I tried it! It's delicious! It has the perfect biscotti texture - very crunchy, but not HARD. I only changed one thing, on advice from a friend who bakes biscotti often: After I sliced the baked loaves into the biscotti pieces, I lowered the oven temperature to 275 and baked for 15 minutes, then turned the cookies over and baked for 15 more minutes, just to be certain that the cookies had dried and crisped all the way through so that they would be crispy-crunchy, not just plain HARD. There's a houseful of company, and everyone loves these! Even the smallest children are munching happily :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I have to admit I made a few changes the first time I made these. (I usually try a recipe as is the first time). I used brown sugar instead of white, and only AP flour. They are fantastic, I love the flavor, but they needed to be a little crispier, so next batch I make I am going to decrease the temp and cook them a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTAL88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I made these for Christmas this year. Very Good with a cup of coffee or tea. Makes a nice treat to take to a party or coffee klatch. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Made as written except I added crystalized ginger cut up in tiny bits and a few turns of fresh ground pepper and I used Siagon Cinnamon. Really ramped up the spice level! This was my test run, will make again for upcoming guests and as gifts. I'd like to try it with butter sometime just to see the difference. This is as good or better than the Starbucks cookie. My husband who usually doesn't say much with my cooking experiments said this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brinnon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I had few changes. I had to use all white flour due to an allergy to whole wheat and not sure if the sub is actually 1:1 but that's what I did. I didn't follow directions and made into one log due to the fact that I wanted long biscotti. My own error was not baking longer because part of it was undercooked. Not so bad when you have to bake two more times but it made it harder to cut without chunks coming out and still maintain a nice looking cookie but that was my error. The reason for the 4 stars is because it needs more spices. It was a pretty bland gingerbread and needed more of a kick. Would make again with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States