Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Will definately make each Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Munith, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Thanks Christina - This is a great treat. Added a handful of raisins but made no other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious! This is such a great tasting biscotti with such wonderful flavor. It pairs so well with coffee. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wonderful recipe.... I made it twice this holiday season - the first time I did not have any wheat flour so just substituted all purpose. I also added chocolate and white chocolate drizzle on top. This second round, I used the original ingredients although used a little more molasses than called for. They're in the oven now and looking really promising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly as written and came out fabulous! I formed my roll right on the cookie sheet instead of forming on the counter and then transferring it. so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Great recipe as written. Modifications: added chopped dried fruit (apples, pears, apricots, red plums and black plums). They cook better for the second baking if placed on a non-stick pizza pan rather than the original cookie sheet. The cookie sheet batch had to cook longer and I ended up standing them upright. Glaze:icing sugar, a bit of butter, milk, and citrus zest. Delicious for a first attempt at biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Good, but not the best biscotti I have made. The dough was VERY sticky. I baked mine at 350 for 35 minutes and only made it into one long log and it was perfect in texture and color. My husband and I found them to be somewhat of a bitter after taste. Next time I would switch out the oil for butter (prefer it in my biscotti) and add a bit of cream of tarter for the slight bitterness and definitely another 1/4 cup sugar. True Italian Biscotti never uses butter only oil, but we prefer it done with butter. Happy cooking to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Loved this recipe! I was a little hesitant about using the oil, based on other reviews, but they turned out great! I only baked for 4 minutes per side for my second baking. The dough is very crumbly when you first lay it out on your baking sheet, but it does bake up nicely. I drizzled mine with white chocolate to which I added a few drops of lemon extract. Nice combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe. As others have mentioned, they're not super-spiced, but I think that makes more sense for biscotti, as they don't tend to be super-sweet cookies. Dipped in milk or coffee, they taste like Christmas. However, mine didn't turn out crispy; they're more dense and a bit chewey. I have another biscotte recipe that calls for doing an initial bake at a lower tempt for longer, and I may try that next time to see if I get a more biscotti-like texture. And a warning: These really spread out during baking. It's not a negative of the recipe, but I wish I had known that in advance because I would have made my logs narrower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
They were delicious, but be careful as they burn quickly (watch them on the second baking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States