Gingerbread Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This was surprisingly good. I did not have almond bark so I drizzled some AR's Gingerbread Frosting for Cookies. The dried frosting is more of an icing texture. It enhanced the biscotti perfectly. The biscotti was perfect as far as texture and flavor. I made the original recipe as is and was able to make about 2 dozen. Not sure how 4 dozen is possible unless you double the original servings. Either way, I will make again eapecially in December.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
We love this biscotti. I've made it both with oil and butter and turned out great both times. They are a fun easy treat to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
No pop of taste in this biscotti. I thought these were very bland. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
very good, especially with the white chocolate! i melt it and pipe it on with the plastic bag. perfect for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Not good. Is the 1/2 tablespoon ground cloves a typo??? I have never put that amount in any recipe and it totally ruined the flavor of this biscotti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Made as directed, the oven temp is too high or the cookie has to cook too long resulting in scorched ginger leading to a bitter cookie that did not completely dry out as biscotti should. If you make these maybe decrease oven temp to 325 or 350? Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe definitely made it to my make-every-Christmas baking list! Loved the flavor and how easy it is to make. I used the lemon icing recipe by Carol to ice the biscotti and then after the icing had set, I used bittersweet chocolate melted and drizzled over the biscotti to make a very professional looking cookie. Gave them as gifts this year to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Yum, yum, YUM!! I followed the recipe exactly as written in regards to ingredients and mixing method. I only made one large log, though. I ended up baking the cut biscotti for about 9 minutes per side to get them perfectly crunchy! These are great without the white chocolate, but spectacular with it! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These should be called clove-ginger biscotti. If you are not crazy about cloves, cut back on it. It is pretty potent. Love these with coffee, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I also used 1/3 cup of salted butter instead of oil, and I cut it into the dry ingredients, minus the sugar, then mixed the sugar with the wet ingredients and added the wet and dry together. I was a bit skeptical of how crumbly the dough seemed, but just as many other reviewers have said, it firmed up significantly on baking. One thing I did to help with forming the loaves since it was so crumbly was put a sheet of parchment paper on the cookie sheet, then dumped half the mixture on and formed it into a loaf, then did the same with the other half and baked them on the parchment paper on the cookie sheet. I don't think I could have made loaves and then moved them onto the sheet, but doing it this way worked really well. I also baked them the first time for 30 minutes, which seemed to be just right, as they seemed too soft at 25 minutes. I made a confectioner's sugar glaze to drizzle, and am loving them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States