Gingerbread Bears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These spread a little too much, just a little. I noticed the thicker ones spread more. I reduced the cinnamon to 1t since we're dealing with gingerbread cookies. Also added half t salt. Very mild tasting. I'm not so sure anyone would think these were gingerbread, if it weren't for the shape. Next day: Well, of the three recipes I tried, these are almost gone. :? Huh? 'Seems they pass the taste test, but not the gingerbread cookie test ... I guess? 'Upping one more star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very good! The only thing i changed is that i didnt have corn syrup so i used honey and added and little nutmeg. They are so light and fluffy! And the flavor is very nice and light not to over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I'm not a big fan of gingerbread cookies. I make them just because it's the thing to do at Christmas time. These were awesome! We ate every last one. Not too strong of a flavor, but really wonderful. They also held their shape really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used molasses and more cinnamon/ginger but no cloves. Great flavor, but a bit dry and not as soft and chewy as I'd like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Thanks for an easy and good recipe!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Loved this! I am not a cut-out-cookie kind of person so I was reluctant to try one, but my teenaged daughters boyfriend requested gingerbread cookies so we decided to try. This one is great! Rolled out really easily, easy to handle and the flavor was great. Interestingly the ingredients call for butter and corn syrup and the recipe says molasses and margarine... we went for the latter, skipped the cloves (didnt have any) and doubled up on the cinnamon and ginger- and it was great! Only chilled it for about 30 min and between batches and it rolled out fine. Will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I made 2 batches for my son's teddy bear birthday breakfast picnic, both batches came out different but both tasted good. I bought small tubes of icing & let the kids decorate them themselves. It was a hit & worked out well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
beautiful.......scrumpscious these were very good...they were also very easy to get the ingredients....its always hard for me to get te ingredients for gingerbread men...i love this gingerbead man
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
very good recipe, I subbed molasses for corn syrup, took out 2 tablespoons of flour and subbed corn starch, added extra ginger and cinnamon, and added 1/4 tspn allspice. 10 minutes leaves them just a little bit soft....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Made these for a conference, went down an amazing treat, added a touch more cinammon and ginger to make 'em taste a little more. Once people had the taste for them, they came back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States