Gingerbread Bears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
this recipe is very tasty, not too strong. the dough does need to be refrigerated just not too long. I chilled mine for the afternoon while I ran errands and it was rock hard. I had to let it sit for about 10 minutes before I could roll it. It doesn't get soft too fast, so it is fairly easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
These look great but are lacking in flavor (I used half molasses & half corn syrup; perhaps all molasses would have been better). My gay lovers definitely thought they needed some more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These were very nice! I didn't have molasses in the house so I wanted a recipe that didn't call for it. These have a nice mild taste...sweet enough for my kids and not overly sweet for my husband. They held their shape nicely. I would recommend you let them cool on the sheet a minute before removing them so your gingerbread people don't end up missing limbs :) p.s. I only chilled them about 1/2 hour and they were fine. Also, we used canned vanilla frosting to decorate our gingerbread people and the kids had a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Delicious!!! I made these one night when some friends were over; between four people the cookies disappeared and they were begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Very easy. I chilled the dough for less than 30 minutes and the rolling and cutting out was super-easy. The taste is very good as well, I decorated some with powdered sugar while they were still warm and they looked too pretty to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Made these for a conference, went down an amazing treat, added a touch more cinammon and ginger to make 'em taste a little more. Once people had the taste for them, they came back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
very good recipe, I subbed molasses for corn syrup, took out 2 tablespoons of flour and subbed corn starch, added extra ginger and cinnamon, and added 1/4 tspn allspice. 10 minutes leaves them just a little bit soft....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
beautiful.......scrumpscious these were very good...they were also very easy to get the ingredients....its always hard for me to get te ingredients for gingerbread men...i love this gingerbead man
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I made 2 batches for my son's teddy bear birthday breakfast picnic, both batches came out different but both tasted good. I bought small tubes of icing & let the kids decorate them themselves. It was a hit & worked out well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Loved this! I am not a cut-out-cookie kind of person so I was reluctant to try one, but my teenaged daughters boyfriend requested gingerbread cookies so we decided to try. This one is great! Rolled out really easily, easy to handle and the flavor was great. Interestingly the ingredients call for butter and corn syrup and the recipe says molasses and margarine... we went for the latter, skipped the cloves (didnt have any) and doubled up on the cinnamon and ginger- and it was great! Only chilled it for about 30 min and between batches and it rolled out fine. Will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States