Gingerbread Bears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
this recipe is very tasty, not too strong. the dough does need to be refrigerated just not too long. I chilled mine for the afternoon while I ran errands and it was rock hard. I had to let it sit for about 10 minutes before I could roll it. It doesn't get soft too fast, so it is fairly easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Delicious!!! I made these one night when some friends were over; between four people the cookies disappeared and they were begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
These were very nice! I didn't have molasses in the house so I wanted a recipe that didn't call for it. These have a nice mild taste...sweet enough for my kids and not overly sweet for my husband. They held their shape nicely. I would recommend you let them cool on the sheet a minute before removing them so your gingerbread people don't end up missing limbs :) p.s. I only chilled them about 1/2 hour and they were fine. Also, we used canned vanilla frosting to decorate our gingerbread people and the kids had a ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Made these for a conference, went down an amazing treat, added a touch more cinammon and ginger to make 'em taste a little more. Once people had the taste for them, they came back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
beautiful.......scrumpscious these were very good...they were also very easy to get the ingredients....its always hard for me to get te ingredients for gingerbread men...i love this gingerbead man
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Loved this! I am not a cut-out-cookie kind of person so I was reluctant to try one, but my teenaged daughters boyfriend requested gingerbread cookies so we decided to try. This one is great! Rolled out really easily, easy to handle and the flavor was great. Interestingly the ingredients call for butter and corn syrup and the recipe says molasses and margarine... we went for the latter, skipped the cloves (didnt have any) and doubled up on the cinnamon and ginger- and it was great! Only chilled it for about 30 min and between batches and it rolled out fine. Will absolutely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Schoeb Boersma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I'm not a big fan of gingerbread cookies. I make them just because it's the thing to do at Christmas time. These were awesome! We ate every last one. Not too strong of a flavor, but really wonderful. They also held their shape really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Dugo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Very good! The only thing i changed is that i didnt have corn syrup so i used honey and added and little nutmeg. They are so light and fluffy! And the flavor is very nice and light not to over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These spread a little too much, just a little. I noticed the thicker ones spread more. I reduced the cinnamon to 1t since we're dealing with gingerbread cookies. Also added half t salt. Very mild tasting. I'm not so sure anyone would think these were gingerbread, if it weren't for the shape. Next day: Well, of the three recipes I tried, these are almost gone. :? Huh? 'Seems they pass the taste test, but not the gingerbread cookie test ... I guess? 'Upping one more star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Thanks for an easy and good recipe!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States