Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jL
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I skipped the green beans and onions, but added Chinese mushrooms, red bell pepper and tofu to this dish. I made the stir fry by first sauteing the ginger and garlic, then adding all of the vegetables, followed by the tofu. Next, I added the soy sauce and then the cornstarch in water to make the stir fry sauce. Tossing the vegetables in an oil-cornstarch mix may have caused the "gummy texture" problems reported by other viewers. This is a good basic stir fry recipe. If you find it bland, you can increase the amount of ginger and garlic, as well as add a bit of chili paste or crushed red pepper flakes to give it a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Being asian and having grown up with authentic asian stir-fry's, I consider this dish a good imitation. I added several additional ingredients, such as fish sauce. Overall, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
VERY YUMMY! I'm glad I found this today. I was in the mood for something good. Of course I had to tweak your recipe a bit for my family, but your garlic/ginger/corn starch blend is a keeper! Here is what I did tonight- Hubby demands meat, so cooks chicken breast first and cut it up. I used two bags of Walmart brand sugar snap peas stir fry (1.50/bag), I had to use powdered ginger this time (but I'm sure the fresh would be AWESOME, will try that next time). Since I had so many veggies, I doubled the soy sauce. I also added a can of pineapple chuncks with the juice just before serving. VERY GOOD! thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
My husband, 20-month-old son, and I all enjoyed this recipe. I've already prepared it twice. Only modifications were more garlic and used dark sesame oil for a more rich flavor. Great for use with any seasonal veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LORNA MB
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I didn't have the veggies that this recipe called for so I just used what I had on hand (carrots, red pepper, celery, broccoli, and some spinach) but kept it to about the same amount of veggies over all. I followed the rest of the recipe as stated except I didn't add the extra salt (1/2 tbsp) at the end. I'm glad I didn't if I had it would have been way too salty. Next time I'm not going to add the cornstarch at the begining but leave it to the end to be added with the soy sauce and water. I found the cornstarch made the bottom of my wok sticky while I was stir frying the veggies. Over all a good recipe for any combination of veggies you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA MB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
Wow. This one is such a keeper. I didn't have any of the fresh veggies listed, so I used frozen carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower - plus I added some chicken. I am in love with ginger, and this definitely satisfies the craving for it. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
A great, simple recipe. To make it easier, I used ginger paste and minced garlic from a jar, and frozen vegetables. I just made it tonight..yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This was pretty good, but nothing spectacular...not as much flavor as I expected. I even used 3 cloves of minced garlic, and half sesame oil for more flavor. Also, seems there is too much oil...you could probably use half the called-for amount and be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Fantastic!! I used broccoli, mushrooms, onions & spinach. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Yummmm! I mixed this w/ soba noodles and seitan and it was great! A light ginger flavor and it works so well w/ the veggies. It's like a dish one would get in a restaurant. It smalls really good while making too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States