Ginger-Touched Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
No doubt the *** BEST *** cookies I have ever made !!! I added the spice ginger, but omitted the crystallized ginger. Then I added chopped walnuts. WOW - these are fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Great cookies but too much sugar/salt in this recipe. If you are going to take out the candied ginger, then you need to cut the salt for sure. I cut half the shortening, half the sugar, and half the salt. Then I grated in a tbsp or 2 of fresh ginger instead of a cup of candied. Really good cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
i love the ginger in this!!!!! i did want to have a bit more peanutbutter taste, so i used 2 cups of peanutbutter and added some extra oatmeal to make up for it, and it was fabulous!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I read all the reviews and took those into consideration before starting. I cut the candied ginger to 1/2 cup and the salt to half, but left the rest the same. I used a jelly roll pan to spread out the dough and made bars with it. They were fabulous. Very light, but chewy and great flavor. My kids won't touch, so more for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
This is a great recipe. I left out the crystalized ginger (cause i forgot to buy it:) oops) But the cookies still came out delicious.. Its also an easy one.. My 10yr made them.. Great Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
This recipe came out really good. I added at least 1 1/2 c of oatmeal, and I would also recommend cutting a bit of the salt. Great, unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Nice combination of flavors with a little zing of ginger in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I love ginger, but am not a fan of gingerbread cookies, so this recipe is a big hit in our house! They baked a little flat, but then I refridgerated the dough and it baked perfect. Thanks so much Laura McB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I also tried this version of Michele's Oatmeal Peanut Butter cookie recipe. Of course I never can leave it alone but as my favourite chef Michael Smith teaches; recipes are just a starting point. I again used all butter, all golden yellow sugar and also used 1/2 teaspoon each of cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg. I did not have crystallized ginger on hand but had wanted to use coconut so included 1/2 cup of that as well as about 1/4 cup slivered almonds. This time I rolled the dough as if I were making ginger snaps and baked at 350 degrees on convection for 16 minutes on the ungreased cookie sheet. I made half the recipe and ended up with exactly 24 perfect crispy cookies which were enjoyed by all. Probably the only thing I would change here is too use more of the ground ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tedew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My ginger loving mom liked these cookies a lot but she eats candied ginger alone! The texture was fabulous with a grainy exterior and soft interior. I thought the ginger was too much and I didn't even add a whole cup because it sounded like ALOT. The ginger overwhelmed the peanut butter. I will definitely try again without ginger though because I liked the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States