Ginger-Touched Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The ginger just gives the cookie that bit of snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Delicious! They turned out nice and thin, chewy in the center and crispy on the outside. The ginger added a great snap (pun intended) and I loved the flavor. This is a good "grown-up" version of a childhood favorite and I look forward to sharing these with friends and coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I was a bit disappointed. No one flavor stands out, just kind of bland. If I make these again, I will definitely add more ground ginger, cut back on the peanut butter, and add some molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Seriously one of the top 5 cookies I've ever made! The ginger adds a bright flavor and balances out the sugar and peanut butter. Everyone who tried them was scared by the name, but was pleasantly surprised by the salty, sweet, ginger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Gulia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Adding ginger was a great idea! The crystallized ginger I bought was in small cookie pieces, so no chopping was needed. The dough is very soft so I chilled it. The only change I might make is a little less salt. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Kester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lamont, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Nice combination of flavors with a little zing of ginger in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I also tried this version of Michele's Oatmeal Peanut Butter cookie recipe. Of course I never can leave it alone but as my favourite chef Michael Smith teaches; recipes are just a starting point. I again used all butter, all golden yellow sugar and also used 1/2 teaspoon each of cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg. I did not have crystallized ginger on hand but had wanted to use coconut so included 1/2 cup of that as well as about 1/4 cup slivered almonds. This time I rolled the dough as if I were making ginger snaps and baked at 350 degrees on convection for 16 minutes on the ungreased cookie sheet. I made half the recipe and ended up with exactly 24 perfect crispy cookies which were enjoyed by all. Probably the only thing I would change here is too use more of the ground ginger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tedew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I read all the reviews and took those into consideration before starting. I cut the candied ginger to 1/2 cup and the salt to half, but left the rest the same. I used a jelly roll pan to spread out the dough and made bars with it. They were fabulous. Very light, but chewy and great flavor. My kids won't touch, so more for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
My ginger loving mom liked these cookies a lot but she eats candied ginger alone! The texture was fabulous with a grainy exterior and soft interior. I thought the ginger was too much and I didn't even add a whole cup because it sounded like ALOT. The ginger overwhelmed the peanut butter. I will definitely try again without ginger though because I liked the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Really good, did not use crystalized ginger and cookies had very little ginger taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carollou3

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States