Ginger Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I wish I knew how to add another half star and give 4 ½ because this really is very good. I did some modifications and by reading the reviews, they were a good choice. I opted for fresh ginger and basil and reduced the salt and pepper by half and pulled back a smidgeon on the mustard. I had a package of New York Strip steaks which had absolutely no fat and I knew they would be dry if grilled so was looking for something flavorful that I could cook in crockpot and this looked great. I cut the steaks into two pieces each and seared them in a cast iron skillet with a little olive oil. I rubbed the salt that would have been in the marinade into the steaks before searing. I mixed the other ingredients (which I doubled everything but S & P and mustard) and poured that over the steaks. I also deglazed skillet with about half cup of water and added that. Cooked for just 4 hours and it was delicious! Served with wild rice with toasted pecans, red grapes and a splash of olive oil, and a cantaloupe salad with mint and key lime and feta cheese. I think it would have been great just over wide egg noodles because the broth was so rich and abundant, served with crusty bread and a salad for a very easy mid-week meal. Great blending of different flavors and healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ctor88
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Fun/easy to make, came out wonderful tons of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Fantastic! My husband loved this steak. This flavors all mix together and taste great. I doubled the garlic but, I really love garlic. I broiled for 5 min on one side and 3 min on the other and it was pretty pink on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was good for a cheap supermarket top sirloin. I usually make our steaks with basic salt & pepper; My husband likes a good quality Rib- eye, while I prefer a nice Tenderloin Filet. The only substitutions for me were fresh garlic, basil and ginger, and rice vinegar as opposed to the lemon juice. I also used a low-sodium Tamari for the soy sauce,and reduced the salt. I marinated the steaks in the mixture while at work, only to tenderize the cheaper cuts of meat. Very nice flavor, although my husband still prefers the taste of "just meat". I will use this again when my local market has a special on the cheaper cuts of beef. I am glad I came across this recipe. I love me some Ginger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was quick and easy but I was not overly impressed with the flavor. I may give this another try with fresh ginger, as I used the roasted ginger I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
The flavor was more subtle than I expected. I too omitted the salt due to the soy sauce. I was craving more ginger flavor and there just wasn't much. It had a good flavor, but was far from bold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is delish. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irene Brennan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made this last night and it was FANTASTIC! I omitted the lemon juice only because I didn't have any on hand. I let the steaks marinate for only 30 minutes before cooking and still the flavor was awesome. I did make a 2nd batch to use as steak sauce and am so glad I did! This was an absolute hit and I will be using this again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was great!! I didnt add the salt since soy sauce is pretty salty and I like spicy food do I doubled the amount of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Ok dish. kind of bland. Maybe we'll double the sauce if make it again. It also wasnt all that tender. Followed the instructions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States