Ginger Snaps II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I've taken the advice and doubled the spices and added cloves,pumpkin spice and whaterver else seemed nice to go into a sweetpotato pie,and the result is a very nice spiced cookie. A sure hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Great ginger snaps! I rolled the entire balls of dough in sugar, and they turned out just as good. I also greased the cookie sheet, just to be sure. Pretty simple to make, and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I made these cookies and halfway through I realized I didn't have ginger..so I used 1tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. They are great! I suppose they are not really a ginger cookie without the ginger but they are great nonetheless. Also, I used real butter as some other people suggested and they turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My family does not eat a lot of sweets and so we are very picky about what we eat. These cookies were gone in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
GRRRREAT!!!!! I used dark molasses and doubled the spices-they are SO YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These are excellent cookies. I added just a bit more molasses (maybe a Tbsp) and I chopped up crystallized ginger pretty small and added quite a bit of that (really to taste). I like really gingery cookies. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby K

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Floyd, Virginia, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I tried this recipe after realizing that I can't make gingerbread cookies b/c cardamom and cloves are just too expensive. I made a few changes to the recipe, after reading the reviews and looking at other recipes for gingerbread cookies on the internet. I used 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter (and I just now realized I used a total of 1 cup instead of 3/4 C!). I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 light brown sugar. I doubled the ginger and the cinnamon, since the smell of the molasses was still so overpowering. And added a few drops of vanilla extract to the batter I made about 70 cookies about of this recipe. I rolled each ball in granulated sugar and baked for 8 minutes. They were really great! The flattened out, and were ever-so-slightly crispy on the outside, yet soft and moist on the inside. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that they still aren't spicy enough for me; next time I will add even more spices, and then I'm sure they'll be perfect. At any rate, this recipe, as I made it, is a keeper and is going to be copied onto a card for my recipe box along with my other favorite family recipes--a place to where few new recipes I try end up. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Fabulous. People thought they came from a bakery. Like other reviewers, I doubled the spices, but kept true to the rest of the recipe. The cookies turned out chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This recipe was easy to follow, easy to make, and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
The cookies are very good but they don't spread very much. Also I made about 1.5 inch balls and they need to bake about 30 min at 350 degrees. Does anyone have any recommendations for this? Perhaps a higher tempature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States