Ginger Snaps II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I made two kinds of ginger snaps - both from this site. The first were "mom's ginger snaps" and the second recipe was this one. Hands down, this one is the better of the two. The only thing I will do next time is add about 1/4 tsp salt instead of 1/2 like it calls for. That's just a personal preference, though. I also added about 1/4 tsp of cloves for added kick. All-in-all, this is a very good recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Today will be my 6th time making these. They are wonderful!! Men especially seem to like them. When they are in the house, my husband can't keep his hand out of the container. DELICIOUS! These are easy recipe to make! I Use evaporated cain juice in place of sugar- still delicious! I took advice and almost doubled the spices. Wish I would not have been so scared the first time and did the whole double amount! I always have since then. I use "real" butter in place of shorting. I used my 1/2 Tablespoon measureing spoon to make them round. I dipped the measurer in flour before scooping up the dough. Tapping them out on the side of the mixing bowl made them easy to remove. They looked to me to be the perfect size of any "normal" gingersnap. When using this way to measure them, a doubled recipe made 126! They are quite a change from your usual hard, crisp ginger sanp. These are soft and chewy and wonderfully spicy. I think you'll not be disappointed should you try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Excellent gingersnaps! These have a great flavor and are addictive. What's more, they are stunning little cookies appearance-wise -- perfectly round, perfectly crackled, very professional looking. They are definitely going in my Christmas cookie assortment. Only one caveat: nine minutes was not long enough in my oven. I had to bake for 12-14 minutes to ensure that they were cooked all the way through. Otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is great for crunchy cookies. If you want a chewier cookie (that's how we like them) only bake for 8minutes. Add a 1/4 tsp. of cloves too! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
excellent cookies. My 3 year old says they are her favorite cookies. I make a double batch every time and put 3/4 of them already into balls in the freezer. That way I can just throw them in the oven upon request and we can eat them warm. I will say that I have used butter as well as crisco and the butter makes a better cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Altingen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Wonderful cookies, Sherry. For personal taste I added 1/2t more ginger and 1/4t cloves for a lttle extra kick. As they baked, they emitted an aroma to die for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I'll never buy store-made ginger snaps again! These cookies are easy and they taste better! Try rolling the tops of the cookies in red or green colored sugar before baking to make a great holiday presentation. Makes a great homemade gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELKEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
This receipe was so easy to make and very good. I made some last night, and my family enjoyed them so much they are begging for more. We are at a high elevation, and so my success with cookies hasn't been so good. This batch was my second batch of cookies that I have made in 1 year, and they turned out wonderful. I did add about another 1/4-1/2 cup of flour, and that worked wonders. We live at 5800+ elev.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
stayed very moist, best ginger snaps ive ever made, thank you boo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
So yummy and literally foolproof. I have been eating these non stop since they came out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Snaps

Learn how to make the perfect, quick and easy ginger snap cookies!

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States