Ginger Snaps II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
As with other reviewers, I found that nine minutes in the oven just wasn't enough. I baked mine at 12 minutes per batch and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOBSEY95

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Durham, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
These were super yummy! I ate way too many! I also added double of the spices, but wish I would have added triple the ginger. I also added some allspice and nutmeg. We loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I substituted Splenda for the sugar. The cookies tasted fine. I had to cook them ~13 minutes but my cookies didn't flatten out so I ended up with ginger balls rather than flat cookies. Next time I would double or triple the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Wow! These cookies were easy and delicious!! I too used butter and doubled the spices. Also substituted maple syrup since I didn't have molasses. Still turned out excellent--did have to cook around 13 minutes. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
i think the flavor of these cookies is nice but we wanted a crunchier outer texture. baking them a few extra minutes really didn't make them crisp up....which is what we hoped for. thanks anyways sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
These were great! I wanted a nice crisp/chewy cookie and that's what I got!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Western

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petersburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I hate this recipe! I saw all the reviews and figured it would taste good. It sucked! For some reason, they were greasy on the outside and dry on the inside. They tasted strange and not like ginger snaps at all. I'm not a fan of ginger now that I made this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grapefruit Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Today will be my 6th time making these. They are wonderful!! Men especially seem to like them. When they are in the house, my husband can't keep his hand out of the container. DELICIOUS! These are easy recipe to make! I Use evaporated cain juice in place of sugar- still delicious! I took advice and almost doubled the spices. Wish I would not have been so scared the first time and did the whole double amount! I always have since then. I use "real" butter in place of shorting. I used my 1/2 Tablespoon measureing spoon to make them round. I dipped the measurer in flour before scooping up the dough. Tapping them out on the side of the mixing bowl made them easy to remove. They looked to me to be the perfect size of any "normal" gingersnap. When using this way to measure them, a doubled recipe made 126! They are quite a change from your usual hard, crisp ginger sanp. These are soft and chewy and wonderfully spicy. I think you'll not be disappointed should you try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelsjen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
Great! Did double the ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mischiefsgirl
Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This is a classic, delicious cookie. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leboulanger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States