Ginger Snaps II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Wobble
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Thank you very much for sharing your recipe! My fiddling: I used butter instead of shortening and heaped my teaspoons with cinnamon and ginger. I didn't have 'light' molasses, so I took a chance with regular Grandma's Molasses and they turned out just fine. I'm interested in adding the cloves other reviewers have suggested, as I baked these to use as a crushed cookie crust for a pumpkin cream pie and think the extra 'bite' would be a pleasing contrast to the creamy filling. However, as a stand-alone cookie I think I'd prefer them just the way they are. :) They're soft and chewy in the center and crisp along the edges. [I used a tbsp scoop and baked for 10 minutes]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I have been making a similar recipe for 10+ years except I add 1 teaspoon of cloves and sometimes for extra kick a 1/2 teaspoon of orange extract. The trick to the cookies is cooking time. For a soft chewy cookie I bake at 300-325F until the tops just start to form thin cracks, which expand into larger cracks when cooled. So tasty everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
the perfect little cookie! I made small bite size cookies (1 tsp. each) and served with a sweet pumpkin dip for thanksgiving. everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MainGal
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
cookies are delightful with milk or coffee! My hubby can't keep his hands off them and has already asked me to make another batch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MainGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamosa, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Delicious! I usually use half butter/half shortening, which still makes them turn out quite good. Just make sure not to melt the butter too much, or they'll become quite flat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is a good recipe. I used some shredded fresh ginger along with the ginger powder. Really Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUV2COOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These cookies tasted great, but they turned out more cake-ish than snap-ish if you know what I mean. Being a poor college students who takes most of her ingredients from the cafeteria I did have to make a few adjustments, such as brown sugar instead of white sugar and molasses. I don't know if this accounted for the texture difference, but as I said, it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PercyPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Followed the exact recipe. These are PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
These cookies were amazing! I made them really small and everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirksville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Made these for the first time tonight, and they are fantastic! Definately going in my recipe box. The only thing I noticed was that I had to bake them for 14 minutes - they just weren't done after 9. Other than that, loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States