Ginger Snaps II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Oh my word these are my favorite ginger cookie now! I doubled the spices like someone suggested, cooked them slightly longer and they came out nice and crispy/chewy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charmander89

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These are wonderful, soft ginger snaps. People will want the recipe - don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Delicious! I have nothing more to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These ginger snaps are soft and delicious! I doubled the ginger and cinnamon, as others had suggested. I also ended up adding a bit of extra flour- about 1/4 a cup- and I would recommend that anyone else baking at high altitude make the same adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bobolynn
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I love recipes that are easy and use simple ingredients and still taste great, and this is one of them! I followed the recipe exactly, other than using butter and only half the salt. These are perfect for a cookie jar! I might increase the spices next time, as they're not super spicy, but they're very good as they are also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobolynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Yummy cookie! Doubled the ginger/cinnamon as suggested. Used dark molasses (that's what I had). Great flavor but I like that "kick" of flavor (these did have that "snap") so next time I'll add the clove that others suggested. 1/2 tbs spoon made a perfect size cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
this receipe was awesome. the texture perfect, not to soft, not to crunchy. the second time i made it i added more ginger. we like the heat. everyone who has tasted has asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These cookies are EASY and delicious! I doubled the spices are encouraged in the previous recipes and added a touch of ground clove for extra spice. Fabulous--thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wobble
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Thank you very much for sharing your recipe! My fiddling: I used butter instead of shortening and heaped my teaspoons with cinnamon and ginger. I didn't have 'light' molasses, so I took a chance with regular Grandma's Molasses and they turned out just fine. I'm interested in adding the cloves other reviewers have suggested, as I baked these to use as a crushed cookie crust for a pumpkin cream pie and think the extra 'bite' would be a pleasing contrast to the creamy filling. However, as a stand-alone cookie I think I'd prefer them just the way they are. :) They're soft and chewy in the center and crisp along the edges. [I used a tbsp scoop and baked for 10 minutes]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I have been making a similar recipe for 10+ years except I add 1 teaspoon of cloves and sometimes for extra kick a 1/2 teaspoon of orange extract. The trick to the cookies is cooking time. For a soft chewy cookie I bake at 300-325F until the tops just start to form thin cracks, which expand into larger cracks when cooled. So tasty everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States