Ginger Snaps II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
These cookies are wonderful! 9 minutes makes soft cookies, 11 minutes makes crispy cookies. Also, there's no need to roll them in sugar...it's sweet enough as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
easy and quick to make plus there just yummy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I added more spices like other reviewers. I like my gingersnaps to have a kick so the extra ginger is essential (3 tsp). I had to use dark molasses cuz thats all I had and I wasn't about to go to the store for the light kind! They are beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
these cookies turn out beautifully-I think they might need a little more salt or maybe a little more cinnamon but the appearance and softness of them is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
My husband LOVES these cookies. He asked me never to buy gingersnaps again! I also upped the amount of spices as someone else suggested. I think I about doubled the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
omg these are fantastic! i took everyone's advice and added more spices, 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and 3 of ginger, plus a pinch of nutmeg. i also used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/4 cup of shortening, and halved the salt. i actually found that 9 minutes wasn't long enough, even when cooled the cookies weren't done enough to hold together, so i let the next batch go and forgot about them until 12 minutes had passed! i thought they were sure to be burnt and ruined, but they were actually fantastic and absolutely perfecct. they were chewy and moist and soft, yet firm and really quite professional looking. they taste amazing. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
When I came across this recipe, I was looking for a cookie that roughly matched the tasty ginger molasses cookies you get at the brand name coffee shops (Starbucks, Second Cup, Bridgehead etc.) This one, while not a precise match, came pretty darn close. I should mention that when I made it, I used light brown sugar instead of white and it turned out quite well. This is probably why mine turned out to have a stronger than expected molasses flavour. I also slightly over did it with the shortening, so they turned out a little too fatty. Despite a few mistakes on the baker's part, they turned out just fine and were very popular among my housemates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This is the best gingersnap cookie ever. Moist & chewy and they look so uniform and look great on a cookie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Peterson Ursenbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Wow! These are absolutely delicious. I won't even bother to try another recipe. The first batch disappeared in 24 hours. Batch 2 lasted slightly longer. I followed the recipe exactly (well, ok I did kind of heap the teaspoon of ginger). I used butter flavored Crisco for the shortening and it was fine. I would think using butter would make them spread a bit too much. Also, I cooked on convection at 325 for the 9 minutes. They were done perfectly. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These cookies came out perfect and they're pretty to boot. Typically I'm a hard, crist gingersnap girl, but these cookies were really good. I added a pinch of nutmeg and allspice for some extra kick. The texture isnt too soft, they hold their own, but they're still soft to the bite. Definitely in my permanent collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States