Ginger Snap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Tasty, but "Ginger Snaps II" is a prettier cookie and simplier to make. (I made both for Christmas day, since I needed to make lots of cookies.) We love the flavor of ginger around here, but I found the three types of ginger to be consuming unnecessary time. These were good, but not great so I'm giving it a 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Thanks for the recipe. I made these for a Christmas cookie exchange and everyone loved them...especially ME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
One of THE BEST cookies I've ever made. I made these for a friend of mine that LOVES gingersnaps. She now claims these are the BEST ones she's ever tried! My boyfriend who stated that he does not even LIKE gingersnaps...can't stop eating them. I usually don't even really crave my own baking..and i can't keep my hand out of the cookie jar. I wouldn't skip out on any of the steps or change a thing. These are very special made EXACTLY as the recipe calls for! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathryn Y White
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is truly a wonderful ginger snap cookie. It is soft and very flavorful. The crystalized ginger is expensive - but it adds a lot of zing. I used less than the recipe calls for simply because it is expensive. I made several batches of these for Christmas. I rolled the dough into balls, rolled in sugar and froze uncooked. They bake up beautifully right from the freezer and make for a lovely plate for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
A thundery, cold Sunday afternoon in England at its worst, and these are exactly what I wanted to see coming out of the oven! They taste amazing, can't stop 'testing'... thank you, winter now feels possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie E

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bristol, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
totally awesome cookies. didn't have brown sugar so i used white. was still great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
A good cookie, but I like the snap of a crunchier cookie. 2 things for this recipe--first, go to the oriental food section of the grocery store and you can buy the TyLing brand crystalized ginger for $1.99 for 3 OUNCES which is about 1/6th the price of what they sell in the spice aisle. Second, for a real spicy sweet bite, I added a TBS of cayenne pepper to the recipe--and everyone went crazy for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Being a ginger snap cookie lover I found these to be fantastic...having no molasses I added maple syrup and instead of the powder ginger I added pumpkin pie spices. The cookies came out great and enough for an army
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is one of the best molasses cookie recipes that have been ever made...The candied and fresh ginger are just incredible. ONE OF THE BEST COOKIES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
These cookies are fantastic! The three ginger was the key and smelled wonderful. They are such a wonderful alternative to those rock hard, break your teeth, dump in milk for an hour to soften store bought gingersnaps from my youth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States