Ginger Snap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Phenomenal . . . Do not change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clreich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestermere, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Carstairs, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I will never use another ginger snap recipe ever again!! I think I made my cookies a little larger than I needed to, so I increased the baking time by two minutes. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Loved this recipe! Very flavorful and not too sweet. I will definitely make these cookies again. My only wish is that the cookie was a little crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I was looking for a ginger cookie recipe for a special friends' 90th birthday and this was it. I did add 2 teaspoons of ground cloves and rolled the balls in turbinado sugar. Delicious!! Also, I found crystallized ginger available at nutsonline.com for a VERY reasonable price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Amazingly yummy! My friend's, family, dads employees demand these... I have to make 150 soon! Gah! Should be fun! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
These were so good! I am 8 weeks pregnant and they are the perfect morning sickness cure. I used black strap molasses to get all I could out of a cookie. Easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Collaroy, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
These are really good! I got tired of grating ginger so I did about half fresh grated and half bottled ground fresh ginger. I chopped the crystallized ginger as small as possible so there woulnd't be any big bites of spice. My kids absolutely love them!! Using a rounded teaspoon, the recipe for 48 cookies actually yields close to 120 cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These cookies are fantastic! My boyfriend's favorite cookie from a local specialty store taste just like these. I preshape balls and freeze them and just make small batches. These are absolutely the best ginger cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
These are excellent! There is so much dough that I divided it up and shaped it a few ways- dropping, rolling balls, and cookie cutters. The dropping made uglier cookies, so from now on I will roll them between my hands for a second. Also, these cookies aren't too sweet and since I had royal icing on hand I put some on and it was the perfect amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 only because they just aren't as good as my grandma's. This recipe makes a humongous amount of cookies. I will definitely half it next time. When reading other reviews I noticed people talking about the expense of candied ginger. It's really easy to make at home. Cook 1 cup pureed ginger and 3 cups of sugar over medium-low heat. After the sugar melts you can add some ghee (clarified butter, but regular butter will work too) and spices such as cardomom or allspice. Let the mixture boil for a few minutes while stirring constantly then pour into a shallow pan to set. YUMMY! We keep it on hand all the time for upset stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gate City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ginger Snap Cookies

Learn how to make the perfect, quick and easy ginger snap cookies!

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States