Ginger Snap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Love, love, love these!! I didn't use unbleached flour, but did everything else exact and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Yummo! Love this recipe, cut the baking powder by 1 teaspoon and added 1/2 tsp of ceyene pepper. Scooped using 1TBLS scoop made 92 cookies. Zesty, hot, sweet and spicy, many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Yummy! Crisp edges with a soft, chewy middle, and so flavorful! I made them exactly as written and they're delicious! My kids love them too. (I had to hide them till after supper). I never knew there were different types of molasses. I used the "backstrap" type, which is supposed to have a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranefeather

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Tastes delicious but I think it calls for too much baking soda. Next time I will reduce to 2 or 2 1/2 T and see if that improves the taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I was looking for a very 'gingery' snap and this is a good one. Some of the suggestions I've read could add variety but this recipe is very good on its own. I can see how cayenne or regular ground black pepper would add to the 'heat'. As for the baking time, it's just a matter of taste whether a person wants a bit chewy or a 'snap'. You can trust this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I tried it tonight and am thoroughly enjoying them. I agree complating with Limobarbie to add cayenne pepper and Varre n Robynns Mom to add fresh minced ginger. I will try it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I haven't made these yet. I like the idea of cayanne pepper! Has anyone had the gingersnap cookies from "Clarke's Bakery" in London? The best in the world! Searching for the recipe. I know they use baking powder instead of soda! They are a bit hot and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
These cookies are amazing. Very gingery. They aren't crisp, but instead came out with the perfect chewy-yet-firm baking. I got crystallized ginger for cheap from C-mart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I wouldn't recommend making these if you don't have the fresh or candied ginger. Also, like some of the other reviewers said, they aren't crispy or snappy. Next time I'll probably try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geckofur

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
First of all, do not add 1 Tbs. of cayenne as someone said before. They were way to spicy even for the adults. I had to throw the whole batch away. These came out very doughy. Not chewy or 'snappy'. I am cooking at high altitude, but I made adjustments. I was disappointed. I tried them three times hoping for success, but they just weren't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ginger Snap Cookies

Learn how to make the perfect, quick and easy ginger snap cookies!

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States