Ginger Snap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was a snappy little cookie.. follow directions and remember it's a spicy cookie not a ginger bread or ginger cookie.. IT'S A SNAP!! I liked it as the recipe says but the second time I didn't add the crystallized ginger but added an extra Tbs of fresh grated ginger and a tsp of cayenne pepper and VOILA!!! AMAZING!! Just like Nanny used to make! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
More soft than snappy but still so freakin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon Baumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Really good cookie. Was looking for something with a BIG ginger taste and this is it. I did bake 5 mins longer in hopes of having a crisper cookie but still got soft centers. Thanks to Teri in 2005 who suggested getting crystalized ginger in the asian section of the grocery saved me a bunch. Just wasn't snappy enough to get a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These were good, but maybe not quite as good as I wanted them to be. I rolled them into balls and then rolled the balls in Sugar in the Raw, because it was a snow day and that sort of thing occupies my preschooler. The finished cookies had a nice soft, chewy texture, and were very crackled and pretty, but I found them a bit one-note: sweet, but without much depth. The sugar I rolled them in didn't help, I'm sure, but I think it was the cookies themselves. I was surprised, considering how much ginger is in them! Anyway, they might improve as they sit, and if that happens I'll revise my review. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
These are yummy, chewy, addicting. Would totally make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Lampman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Good but lacking flavor. Next batch: add 1t nutmeg, 1t vanilla extract and 1C cransins. Definitely reduce baking soda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
The best ginger snap I have ever had! It is worth it to use all 3 types of ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Overall they were delicious i made them for a christmas party and they got great reviews but i added 3/4 cup molasses and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Love, love, love these!! I didn't use unbleached flour, but did everything else exact and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Yummo! Love this recipe, cut the baking powder by 1 teaspoon and added 1/2 tsp of ceyene pepper. Scooped using 1TBLS scoop made 92 cookies. Zesty, hot, sweet and spicy, many thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States