Ginger Snap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
A good cookie, but I like the snap of a crunchier cookie. 2 things for this recipe--first, go to the oriental food section of the grocery store and you can buy the TyLing brand crystalized ginger for $1.99 for 3 OUNCES which is about 1/6th the price of what they sell in the spice aisle. Second, for a real spicy sweet bite, I added a TBS of cayenne pepper to the recipe--and everyone went crazy for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I couldn't find crystallized ginger in the local grocery store, so following one of the earlier reviews, I skipped the crystallized ginger and added extra fresh ginger (THANKS FOR THE ADVICE!). To reduce to amount of fat, I used 1 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce, I don't think this changes the taste very much, 'coz it's still excellent. I extended the baking time to 15 mins though since I find 10 mins baking leave the cookies too chewy. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
If you love ginger, these are the cookies for you! They give you the full, spicy bite of ginger by using it in all three forms. I had to cook them a little longer than instructed to get them to the crispy "snap" stage, but they are equally good if you make them chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe is good, but it can be seriously pumped up into an adult taste treat. Use 1 cup fresh minced ginger in addition to 1 cup crystalized ginger, decrease powdered ginger by 1 teaspoon and replace with fresh ground black pepper, add 1/2 teaspoon cloves. Amazing. If this is really for adults, macerate the fresh ginger in a couple of tablespoons of vodka, brings out yet another level of flavor. My next twist will be to add cayenne pepper, haven't tried it, but just wait....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 only because they just aren't as good as my grandma's. This recipe makes a humongous amount of cookies. I will definitely half it next time. When reading other reviews I noticed people talking about the expense of candied ginger. It's really easy to make at home. Cook 1 cup pureed ginger and 3 cups of sugar over medium-low heat. After the sugar melts you can add some ghee (clarified butter, but regular butter will work too) and spices such as cardomom or allspice. Let the mixture boil for a few minutes while stirring constantly then pour into a shallow pan to set. YUMMY! We keep it on hand all the time for upset stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gate City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathryn Y White
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is truly a wonderful ginger snap cookie. It is soft and very flavorful. The crystalized ginger is expensive - but it adds a lot of zing. I used less than the recipe calls for simply because it is expensive. I made several batches of these for Christmas. I rolled the dough into balls, rolled in sugar and froze uncooked. They bake up beautifully right from the freezer and make for a lovely plate for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Crystallized ginger is expensive, I first made these for a Christmas cookie exchange and didn't want to go to the expense of the crystallized ginger, so feel free to leave it out, it is "non-essential", don't skimp on the powdered or fresh ginger to give them a nice "snap" and decorate with a confectioner's sugar (a little water and white confectioner's suger to a pasty consistency)piped on in stars, swirls or whatever suits you...they were a hit! (Ginger tends to be an adult taste but kids like em too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
One of THE BEST cookies I've ever made. I made these for a friend of mine that LOVES gingersnaps. She now claims these are the BEST ones she's ever tried! My boyfriend who stated that he does not even LIKE gingersnaps...can't stop eating them. I usually don't even really crave my own baking..and i can't keep my hand out of the cookie jar. I wouldn't skip out on any of the steps or change a thing. These are very special made EXACTLY as the recipe calls for! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
These were very good. If you like ginger they are the cookie for you. I did find however that they were quite soft (no snap). I will try to decrease the flour a bit next time to get that snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Tasty, but "Ginger Snaps II" is a prettier cookie and simplier to make. (I made both for Christmas day, since I needed to make lots of cookies.) We love the flavor of ginger around here, but I found the three types of ginger to be consuming unnecessary time. These were good, but not great so I'm giving it a 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States