Ginger Snap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2001
If you love ginger, these are the cookies for you! They give you the full, spicy bite of ginger by using it in all three forms. I had to cook them a little longer than instructed to get them to the crispy "snap" stage, but they are equally good if you make them chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2001
These are terrific. Buttery with each little bite full of candied ginger. I'm putting this in my permanent collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
I added 1 tsp of ground cloves and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to this recipe. It was the first time that I'd made ginger snap cookies & these turned out fantastic! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I was so surprised to find this recipe soooo delicious. They lasted only a few days in the house. I especially loved the chewiness of the recipe, not the hardness which usually is the typical "ginger crisp." I agree with another reviewer that this will become one of my regular cookies to bake. So different than the "toll house" types. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Crystallized ginger is expensive, I first made these for a Christmas cookie exchange and didn't want to go to the expense of the crystallized ginger, so feel free to leave it out, it is "non-essential", don't skimp on the powdered or fresh ginger to give them a nice "snap" and decorate with a confectioner's sugar (a little water and white confectioner's suger to a pasty consistency)piped on in stars, swirls or whatever suits you...they were a hit! (Ginger tends to be an adult taste but kids like em too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
These were very good. If you like ginger they are the cookie for you. I did find however that they were quite soft (no snap). I will try to decrease the flour a bit next time to get that snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
I couldn't find crystallized ginger in the local grocery store, so following one of the earlier reviews, I skipped the crystallized ginger and added extra fresh ginger (THANKS FOR THE ADVICE!). To reduce to amount of fat, I used 1 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce, I don't think this changes the taste very much, 'coz it's still excellent. I extended the baking time to 15 mins though since I find 10 mins baking leave the cookies too chewy. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
These cookies are fantastic! The three ginger was the key and smelled wonderful. They are such a wonderful alternative to those rock hard, break your teeth, dump in milk for an hour to soften store bought gingersnaps from my youth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This is one of the best molasses cookie recipes that have been ever made...The candied and fresh ginger are just incredible. ONE OF THE BEST COOKIES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Being a ginger snap cookie lover I found these to be fantastic...having no molasses I added maple syrup and instead of the powder ginger I added pumpkin pie spices. The cookies came out great and enough for an army
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States