Ginger Snap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
the taste was phenomenal but the constituency was poor. they were very soft, thin, gooey and floppy. I wasn't going for them to be hard like actual ginger snaps, but they needed more flour or something. I'll have to play around with the recipe and see if I can get the consistency right. but the flavor especially with the crystallized ginger was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIVEFLYNUNS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This recipe is good, but it can be seriously pumped up into an adult taste treat. Use 1 cup fresh minced ginger in addition to 1 cup crystalized ginger, decrease powdered ginger by 1 teaspoon and replace with fresh ground black pepper, add 1/2 teaspoon cloves. Amazing. If this is really for adults, macerate the fresh ginger in a couple of tablespoons of vodka, brings out yet another level of flavor. My next twist will be to add cayenne pepper, haven't tried it, but just wait....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Very good gingersnap recipe! I didn't have the crystallized ginger or fresh ginger so I just added 2tsp cinnamon. I also rolled these in sugar before baking. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
as good as it gets
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe is a great and delicious way to use all that fresh ginger you have left over! These cookies are easy to make and oh so tasty! I followed the advice of adding more fresh ginger instead of crystallized ginger, since I had none on hand - that worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Super easy, very fast, a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
These cookies are simply delicious! I iced mine with lemon icing (fresh lemon juice mixed with powdered sugar). The lemon flayor goes so well with ginger. I will definitely being making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
These turned out fantastically! I wish I had read the 'replacing crystallized ginger' with fresh ginger before making them ("my bad!") - I live in the Middle East and have to import crystallized ginger - it's so expensive even in Canada, importing it makes it even more so! Fresh ginger is extremely cheap here and in huge abundance, so I will definitely be making these again skipping crystallized and upping fresh! Great recipe, it's going in the recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluJaysGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Definitely a different twist to the traditional ginger snap! My boyfriend thought they were too gingery but everyone else loved them. I left out the fresh ginger as I couldn't find any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
These are the best ginger snap cookies ever! My daughter and I rolled the cookie dough in sugar before we placed them on the cookie sheet. You have to try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMK1K2K3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States