Ginger Snap Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Yummy! Crisp edges with a soft, chewy middle, and so flavorful! I made them exactly as written and they're delicious! My kids love them too. (I had to hide them till after supper). I never knew there were different types of molasses. I used the "backstrap" type, which is supposed to have a stronger flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cranefeather

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Tastes delicious but I think it calls for too much baking soda. Next time I will reduce to 2 or 2 1/2 T and see if that improves the taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I was looking for a very 'gingery' snap and this is a good one. Some of the suggestions I've read could add variety but this recipe is very good on its own. I can see how cayenne or regular ground black pepper would add to the 'heat'. As for the baking time, it's just a matter of taste whether a person wants a bit chewy or a 'snap'. You can trust this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I tried it tonight and am thoroughly enjoying them. I agree complating with Limobarbie to add cayenne pepper and Varre n Robynns Mom to add fresh minced ginger. I will try it again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I haven't made these yet. I like the idea of cayanne pepper! Has anyone had the gingersnap cookies from "Clarke's Bakery" in London? The best in the world! Searching for the recipe. I know they use baking powder instead of soda! They are a bit hot and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
These cookies are amazing. Very gingery. They aren't crisp, but instead came out with the perfect chewy-yet-firm baking. I got crystallized ginger for cheap from C-mart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I wouldn't recommend making these if you don't have the fresh or candied ginger. Also, like some of the other reviewers said, they aren't crispy or snappy. Next time I'll probably try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geckofur

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
First of all, do not add 1 Tbs. of cayenne as someone said before. They were way to spicy even for the adults. I had to throw the whole batch away. These came out very doughy. Not chewy or 'snappy'. I am cooking at high altitude, but I made adjustments. I was disappointed. I tried them three times hoping for success, but they just weren't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Phenomenal . . . Do not change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clreich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestermere, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Carstairs, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I will never use another ginger snap recipe ever again!! I think I made my cookies a little larger than I needed to, so I increased the baking time by two minutes. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States