Ginger Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was amazing!! The only thing I added was a little garlic and shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Oh My Goodness! I was lacking on the quantity of scallops but made the full sauce recipe. I had made an oriental pork roast, fried rice, and a vegetable stir fry for my family. I'm the only seafood lover in this family but my non-scallop eaters ate all of the scallops. When we were cleaning up after dinner I told my husband to save the sauce because I will eat that sauce on plain rice. It is so good. I'm going to throw some shrimp in the next time I make it. Stupid scallop stealing people that I live with...Stole My Dinner. LOL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was very good! My hubby loved it! We are on vacation and have been eating out a lot so I decided to cook dinner since we are in a well stocked condo. We love scallops so gave it a try. Pretty easy except I didn't have a way to mince the ginger root. Did the best I could and turned out fine. The only things I did different was to cook the scallops separate. Also after reading reviews I add the juice of 1/2 a lemon. Next time I don't think I will add it. Severed over angel hair pasta with sautéed green beans! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Added a pinch of chili powder, squeezed half a lemon & minced two cloves of garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This recipe was very good, and it was very simple. In making this recipe, I omitted the carrots, and added a clove of garlic for flavor. Also, I grated the ginger instead of mincing; It was easier. I too cooked the scallops first, then cooked the sauce after. One thing I would advise people to use less of is the salt : it throws off the ginger in the dish, and makes the sauce salty. Other than that, the sauce was perfect with the scallops. In all, this was a great dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I went and bought scallops at some horrendous price, just to make this. I tasted it before serving, and like Beth I found it quite insipid. I read another viewers remark about the lemon, so I added that. It made the difference and the whole thing turned out quite delicious. I agree with Doug Matthews that it would be better to fry the scallops before putting them to finish in the sauce. I must add, that apart from salt, pepper or chillies. I always follow a recipe the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
We've recently had a new seafood shop open up in town and they get "Digby Scallops" in once a week. Tried this recipe and it was a huge hit. Only change I made was I did not cook the scallops in the sauce just to avoid overcooking them. I fried them for a couple of minutes then served them with the sauce on top. Huge Hit !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I added a little garlic and it was perfect! Next time I'll try adding a little coconut milk. You don't really have to add anything. They way it is, is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
OMG! Lost this recipe, just found it. If you have small scallops this is a great recipe to prepare them. Also a touch of curry is nice with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Fabulous! easy. I did add a clove of galic. The carrot adds nice color, and I might put a little parsle for color too. My company went crazy for it and they have the recipe too now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States