Ginger Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Delicious! I made just a few changes - I added several cloves of chopped garlic and added the juice of a lemon to the sauce. I used the large sea scallops, they're a little pricey, but worth the cost. Also, I sauteed the scallops separately in a pan sprayed with lemon flavored non-stick spray, 2 minutes or so each side, then put them in the sauce for just a minute before serving. I like the texture of sauteed scallops better than those cooked in a sauce. The fresh ginger is so much better than the bottled stuff. Will be making this again and again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Great Aroma and Great over rice as suggested - might want to consider cooking the scallops prior to adding to pan since the moisture relased by the scallops made for a much longer cooking time in order to get the reduction in sauce needed - my wife had the leftover sauce over rice for breakfast - thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
My family couldn't get enough of this one. I didn't have fresh ginger root so I subbed the spice powder--tasted incredible. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
All I can say is WOW. For such an easy recipe, this is awesome. I used a little Taylor dry sherry instead of white wine and just saute'd it until the alcohol smell went away. Also I used condensed milk instead of heavy cream. I also cut down on the ginger by 1/2 to give it a more subtle taste and it blended in great with the other flavors so you don't know if it's ginger or a mixture of other spices. I also tried it per the recipe and it's also great!!!!! My haats off to Jeanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Great recipe. I had worried that the ginger would be very strong, but it was perfect. I added sliced mushrooms instead of carrots and left out the last 2 tbls of butter. I didn't reduce the sauce as much as it needed so it was more soupy than saucy, but my husband and I planned it that way. We had it in a dish and ate it like soup. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
I can't stand cooked carrots, so I left them out of Jeanne's recipe. It was a totally melt-in-the-mouth delicious meal. I had it over rice, and a side of fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
Used shallots instead of green onions because that's what I had... delicious recipe... also good over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I substituted shallots for the onions, and as suggested previously, I seared the scallops in a separate pan. I served this dish with pasta shells & portobello mushrooms and it was terrific. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This recipe was so easy and delicious! Next time I make it my boyfriend wants me to double the recipe to make sure we have more leftovers. I couldn't find ginger root at the store I was at, so I just used fresh ground ginger, and it tasted fine. We had it with brown rice, which I thought soaked up a lot of the flavor of the sauce, so I probably won't use that again. We also had steamed asparagus and poured the sauce and scallops over that and it really brought out the flavor in the dish. We loved this recipe and can't wait to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
It was okay. I can't say what made it ho-hum, but it seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States