Ginger Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I made this with scallops and shrimp last evening, but felt that the taste was a little bland and too heavy. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I'm rating this 5 stars because I really liked the sauce. However, I could have done a better job rinsing the scallops, so, word to the wise, rinse them well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
The carrots seem weird, but they are really good. Use Sea Scallops, they are much better for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Delicious! I made just a few changes - I added several cloves of chopped garlic and added the juice of a lemon to the sauce. I used the large sea scallops, they're a little pricey, but worth the cost. Also, I sauteed the scallops separately in a pan sprayed with lemon flavored non-stick spray, 2 minutes or so each side, then put them in the sauce for just a minute before serving. I like the texture of sauteed scallops better than those cooked in a sauce. The fresh ginger is so much better than the bottled stuff. Will be making this again and again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I substituted shallots for the onions, and as suggested previously, I seared the scallops in a separate pan. I served this dish with pasta shells & portobello mushrooms and it was terrific. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Wow! This was great. I made a few alterations...substituted mushrooms for the carrots, and added coconut milk and some cilantro. Cooked it all up and served over Spaghetti. The whole family loved it, and it was easy!! Will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin Square, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Wonderful! I seared the scallops in a separate saute pan, and added 1/2 teaspoon sugar to cut the tanginess, but the scallop-lover in my house was all over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
It was ok. The sauce didn't stick or penetrate into the scallops. It was tasty on the carrots though. Too much work for what you got out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Though the ginger/wine/cream combo was tasty, this was not a favorite. One minute is not long enough to cook the scallops and they drew so much moisture that the sauce was watery. I might try again and would sear the scallops first as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! The fresh ginger and green onion are refreshing without overpowering the taste of scallop. It is a wonderful combination. I served this dish with rice and everyone was praising about it. I brought sea scallop which are bigger than regular scallop, and I cooked it for about 2 mins on each side. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States