Ginger Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Absolutely fantastic!! Didn't use as many carrots but the recipe was phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Gah, my sauce curdled so I blended it - but then it separated. I did use half and half instead of full cream so maybe that's what happened. However, it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Very good! Like others, I decided to saute the carrots and sear my scallops, make the sauce in the pan seperately and serve it over them. I ended up reducing the sauce quite a bit to get it to a thicker consistency and then added my salt & pepper at the end. I really loved the different flavor of this sauce - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I have this same recipe in my collection for many years now. First found it in a Better Homes and Garden cookbook that I bought off the discount rack. Loved it then, and still love it now. I use more onions and cook the scallops first to give them a nice sear. I re-add them to the sauce near the end to let the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Having read previous reviews for this recipe I made it last night and blended sea and bay scallops, but cooked them separately before adding into the sauce. I also substituted ground ginger since I didn't have any fresh root. This was delicious, served with brown rice, a salad, and garlic bread. Jason said I have to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I made this with scallops and shrimp last evening, but felt that the taste was a little bland and too heavy. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Port Monmouth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I'm rating this 5 stars because I really liked the sauce. However, I could have done a better job rinsing the scallops, so, word to the wise, rinse them well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
The carrots seem weird, but they are really good. Use Sea Scallops, they are much better for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Delicious! I made just a few changes - I added several cloves of chopped garlic and added the juice of a lemon to the sauce. I used the large sea scallops, they're a little pricey, but worth the cost. Also, I sauteed the scallops separately in a pan sprayed with lemon flavored non-stick spray, 2 minutes or so each side, then put them in the sauce for just a minute before serving. I like the texture of sauteed scallops better than those cooked in a sauce. The fresh ginger is so much better than the bottled stuff. Will be making this again and again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I substituted shallots for the onions, and as suggested previously, I seared the scallops in a separate pan. I served this dish with pasta shells & portobello mushrooms and it was terrific. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Creamy Bay Scallops with Spaghetti

A super-simple pasta dish with bay scallops in a sherry cream sauce.

How to Make Bacon-Wrapped Scallops

Grilled bacon and scallops make a smoky, savory treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States