Ginger-Scallion Crusted Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe inspired me to finally join "all recipes.com" and write a review at last. I made this last night for the very first time. I agree with Jimmy D, Fireguy needs to make the whole recipe and Jimmy D, the cucumber salad was amazing and really added to the dish - you guys need to make the whole thing. My guests loved the salmon and I would definitely make the dish again. My husband seared two whole salmon fillets (48 oz - giving me 12 x 4oz fillets) on the grill for me and then I rubbed them with the honey and ginger crust. The crust didn't crisp up for me either but the flavours of it just soaked into the salmon. I would recommend using less peanut oil. Also, if cooking for a smaller number, stick to 8oz per person - the original recipe works with 4 x 8oz portions - as it's so yummy, a smaller portion of 4 oz is not enough! The ponzu butter was to die for! The 4 stages means a little bit of work but this recipe is truly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Wow! This was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
My In-laws are Japanese, I made this dish for my husband and his family. They loved it! The only suggestion they made was to maybe add a bit of sugar with the cucumber salad. It was a but too tart. Other than that it was phenomenal!!! The prep time is well worth it. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GigZirb
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Made this last night just as called for and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GigZirb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truckee, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Delicate and delicious - Add a tablespoon of low sodium soy to bring out the Asian flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very nice Asian "fusion" dish. I don't think a recipe with cream and butter could qualify as a traditional Japanese dish, but no matter because fusion cuisine demands a high price when dining out and with this recipe you can have the same quality at home. It actually is not that hard to prepare either, the salad is done in advance and you can prep the "crust" in advance as well. When you are ready to actually cook the salmon the whole thing only takes about 15 minutes. I made this recipe just as written and served it with steamed white rice. The salmon was perfectly cooked; moist flavorful and tender. The sauce was lovely, no extra salt needed with the ponzu sauce I had, I would definately taste the sauce before adding any salt. This is a gourmet quality recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This dish is sublime if prepared according to the recipe. It literally tastes like a $34 entree at a fancy restaurant. I made it for a Valentines day dinner and my husband loved it. Make sure you also prepare the cucumber salad and Ponzu cream sauce--it's the combination of these with the crusted salmon that make this dish so outrageously delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
The first time I made this dish I only made the crust portion of this dish and it was delicious. The second time I made it I used pork chops instead of salmon and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
very great, very very great Ali Spicy Food Recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is really a deliciou recipe. Worth all the effort. I used part of the salad and sauce on salmon as given in the recipe (for the hubby) and part of it on mushrooms made just as salmon. It really was extraordinary! And I did use evaporated milk instead of cream and used smart balance butter (in reduced quantity too) The ponzu butter separated a bit but it was still very good!! Lastly, I made ponzu sauce at home with 1/3 quantity soy sauce, 1/4 quantity lemon juice and instant dashi granules. Thanks for a fabulous recipe Ryan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States