Ginger-Scallion Crusted Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I didn't make the cucumber salad but the salmon and sauce was really well. You can buy bottled ponzu in the Asian section of most supermarkets or make your own (basically soy sauce and citrus). To the other reviewer: why would you rate a recipe without even trying it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I don't know what went wrong. The ginger-scallion "crust" ended up being nothing more than soggy, oily ginger, scallion, and garlic pieces sitting on top of salmon. I followed the directions exactly. I assumed it was supposed to get crunchy on top. Am I wrong there? I don't know, but it looked so unappetizing that we couldn't even eat it. I was so disappointed because it sounded so good. I am mad that all of that mincing was a complete waste. :( Oh, and 92 grams of fat per serving? You've got to be kidding me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aseleener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This dish was absolutly delicious! I usually add something that isn't in the original recipe. This time I added some horseredish to the ponzu butter. Rave reviews all around from my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was absolutely incredible! I felt like I was on Top Chef when I was finished :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This dish is sublime if prepared according to the recipe. It literally tastes like a $34 entree at a fancy restaurant. I made it for a Valentines day dinner and my husband loved it. Make sure you also prepare the cucumber salad and Ponzu cream sauce--it's the combination of these with the crusted salmon that make this dish so outrageously delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe inspired me to finally join "all recipes.com" and write a review at last. I made this last night for the very first time. I agree with Jimmy D, Fireguy needs to make the whole recipe and Jimmy D, the cucumber salad was amazing and really added to the dish - you guys need to make the whole thing. My guests loved the salmon and I would definitely make the dish again. My husband seared two whole salmon fillets (48 oz - giving me 12 x 4oz fillets) on the grill for me and then I rubbed them with the honey and ginger crust. The crust didn't crisp up for me either but the flavours of it just soaked into the salmon. I would recommend using less peanut oil. Also, if cooking for a smaller number, stick to 8oz per person - the original recipe works with 4 x 8oz portions - as it's so yummy, a smaller portion of 4 oz is not enough! The ponzu butter was to die for! The 4 stages means a little bit of work but this recipe is truly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Yankton, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was the 1st time i baked salmon. This recipe turned out pretty good. I didn't make the cucumber salad or butter but the ginger scallion was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fireguy553

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I tested this on my family and got rave reviews.This is one of the best recipes I made from allrecipes. very gourmet! Will be making for our next dinner party. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Amazing!!! I absolutley loved this dish, def. a "Do Over" in our house, if you want to impress someone special, make this dish. Turns the same old boring salmon dish into a "WOW" dish. I give it 5 Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States