Ginger-Scallion Crusted Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
The first time I made this dish I only made the crust portion of this dish and it was delicious. The second time I made it I used pork chops instead of salmon and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This dish is sublime if prepared according to the recipe. It literally tastes like a $34 entree at a fancy restaurant. I made it for a Valentines day dinner and my husband loved it. Make sure you also prepare the cucumber salad and Ponzu cream sauce--it's the combination of these with the crusted salmon that make this dish so outrageously delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Very nice Asian "fusion" dish. I don't think a recipe with cream and butter could qualify as a traditional Japanese dish, but no matter because fusion cuisine demands a high price when dining out and with this recipe you can have the same quality at home. It actually is not that hard to prepare either, the salad is done in advance and you can prep the "crust" in advance as well. When you are ready to actually cook the salmon the whole thing only takes about 15 minutes. I made this recipe just as written and served it with steamed white rice. The salmon was perfectly cooked; moist flavorful and tender. The sauce was lovely, no extra salt needed with the ponzu sauce I had, I would definately taste the sauce before adding any salt. This is a gourmet quality recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Delicate and delicious - Add a tablespoon of low sodium soy to bring out the Asian flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GigZirb
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Made this last night just as called for and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GigZirb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truckee, California, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
My In-laws are Japanese, I made this dish for my husband and his family. They loved it! The only suggestion they made was to maybe add a bit of sugar with the cucumber salad. It was a but too tart. Other than that it was phenomenal!!! The prep time is well worth it. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Wow! This was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe inspired me to finally join "all recipes.com" and write a review at last. I made this last night for the very first time. I agree with Jimmy D, Fireguy needs to make the whole recipe and Jimmy D, the cucumber salad was amazing and really added to the dish - you guys need to make the whole thing. My guests loved the salmon and I would definitely make the dish again. My husband seared two whole salmon fillets (48 oz - giving me 12 x 4oz fillets) on the grill for me and then I rubbed them with the honey and ginger crust. The crust didn't crisp up for me either but the flavours of it just soaked into the salmon. I would recommend using less peanut oil. Also, if cooking for a smaller number, stick to 8oz per person - the original recipe works with 4 x 8oz portions - as it's so yummy, a smaller portion of 4 oz is not enough! The ponzu butter was to die for! The 4 stages means a little bit of work but this recipe is truly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was the 1st time i baked salmon. This recipe turned out pretty good. I didn't make the cucumber salad or butter but the ginger scallion was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fireguy553

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I wanted to try a recipe that used Japanese ingredients like mirin and ponzu...this was soooo good. I've never cooked japanese food before, so I wasn't sure what it would end up tasting like; but this was so easy, and the flavors were awesome. I would definitely make this again. The only thing I changed was using sake instead of dry white wine because that's what I had on hand, and it tasted great. I'm going to try this with chicken I think....and maybe some japanese rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States