Ginger-Scallion Crusted Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I tested this on my family and got rave reviews.This is one of the best recipes I made from allrecipes. very gourmet! Will be making for our next dinner party. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Amazing!!! I absolutley loved this dish, def. a "Do Over" in our house, if you want to impress someone special, make this dish. Turns the same old boring salmon dish into a "WOW" dish. I give it 5 Stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was absolutely incredible! I felt like I was on Top Chef when I was finished :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Wow - reviewers weren't kidding, this was amazing! Complex blend of flavors and textures that complemented each other beautifully. I made this as listed except for the ponzu butter sauce, which terrified me a little with the amount of fat involved. O.o I used 1/2&1/2 instead of heavy cream, and cut the 1/2cup of cold butter to 1/4 cup. Still VERY flavorful and creamy. I also didn't have ponzu sauce so I made my own: 3 parts soy sauce, 2 parts vinegar, 1 part orange juice and 1/2 part sesame oil. Most of the work here is prep, with the actual cooking taking very little time. Make sure to get the ponzu butter to the stage where you're reducing by half before you throw the salmon in the skillet to sear, if you want things to come out done all at about the same time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I got rave reviews from the friends I cooked this for, but I feel a little put out that the "Ponzu Sauce" doesn't print out on the shopping list, and even if it did, I was unable to find it anywhere. I read that it weas a sweet citrus sauce, so I used some marmalade instead, but who knows what that taste did. Bottom line, this recipe is a pain in the butt to make, but it yields great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lclaurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cornish, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: King George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I don't know what went wrong. The ginger-scallion "crust" ended up being nothing more than soggy, oily ginger, scallion, and garlic pieces sitting on top of salmon. I followed the directions exactly. I assumed it was supposed to get crunchy on top. Am I wrong there? I don't know, but it looked so unappetizing that we couldn't even eat it. I was so disappointed because it sounded so good. I am mad that all of that mincing was a complete waste. :( Oh, and 92 grams of fat per serving? You've got to be kidding me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aseleener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Middleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Maybe Ill food process the ingredients for the ginger crust so that it can soak in a bit more, it didnt have as much impact as it could have had. besides that everything was abslutly great. didnt get a chance to make the salad, will next time!! and i never used the ponzu butter becuase i never noticed it till now. it was great without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Very good. Fairly easy to make and would say that the whole thing makes it especially delicious. Although I served this at home for my son and husband, this would make an impressive dinner party meal. I used half and half instead of the whole cream and cut back on the butter a bit - I don't think I lost any of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is really a deliciou recipe. Worth all the effort. I used part of the salad and sauce on salmon as given in the recipe (for the hubby) and part of it on mushrooms made just as salmon. It really was extraordinary! And I did use evaporated milk instead of cream and used smart balance butter (in reduced quantity too) The ponzu butter separated a bit but it was still very good!! Lastly, I made ponzu sauce at home with 1/3 quantity soy sauce, 1/4 quantity lemon juice and instant dashi granules. Thanks for a fabulous recipe Ryan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
very great, very very great Ali Spicy Food Recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States