Ginger Rhubarb Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Hubby did not appreciate the ginger but I loved this. Added an extra dimension to the crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice Glaser

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
It was quite sweet and I didn't taste much rhubarb. In the plus side I used plenty of it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
A new family favorite! I added more ginger to make it extra flavorful. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Made this exactly like the recipe and took it to a church gathering. Everyone raved about it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Very good rhubarb crisp. I made exactly as directed, but did add a sprinkling of cinnamon over the rhubarb custard layer, and used ground ginger rather than fresh. The only thing I'd do differently next time is decrease the amount of sugar - it's just a little too cloying sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I gave it 4 stars but my husband would have given it 5. The filling is on the tart side for me but this is exactly how he likes his rhubarb. Otherwise a pretty good recipe. Ginger and orange zest add some interesting flavors. Will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This recipe is a keeper! I lost my favorite rhubarb recipe and needed a new one. This recipe is just as good as my lost favorite, if not better. I used slightly more than 1-1/2 lbs of rhubarb and cut it up without measuring to see if it was 8 cups. I took someone's comment that it was too thin when baked in a 9" X 13" pan, so I used a deep dish 9" X 9" pan--it fit perfectly and wasn't too thin. I adjusted the topping, based on personal taste: I left out the flour, reduced the dark brown sugar to 1 cup and the butter to 1/4 cup. The topping worked out beautifully. Thanks, beetgreens, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Crowd favorite! The ginger definitely makes the difference. I got by with using some orange extract and a sprinkle more of flour/corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Mmmm! Very good! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This recipe turned out wonderful. I liked the twist of ginger, so the second time I made it I added another tablespoon, which made it extra spicy. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Rhubarb Crisp

See how to make a super-simple rhubarb and fresh strawberry crisp.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States