Ginger Pear Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I made this of a princess house party and loved it. SO when my work place had a cowboy dinner with a bake off I took this and won first place!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Pretty good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I've made this twice in the last five days. The first time was for a funeral at church, so I tripled the recipe, and the second time was for dessert for our Bible Study group. The first time I processed the ginger snaps finely and used almonds in the topping. I didn't think the top was crispy enough, so today I left some chunks in the ginger snaps and I used oatmeal instead of the almonds. I preferred that topping. Since there is a good bit of juice that accumulates in the bottom of the bowl of chopped pears, I drain off as much as possible, but both times I put some extra corn starch in the sauce to make sure it thickens enough. I found it baked up perfectly that way. I also added a little more ground ginger to the sauce to give it a little more kick. I thought this was delicious, as did everyone else who tried it. This may be my new favorite fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I love the crumble topping on this! It was also a breeze to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
The crumble topping was just amazing! Really crispy, rich & flavourful. I used flaked almonds in mine. However, just like others, I found the pears were bland. They just didn't stand up to the bold flavour of the topping. Would like to try this again using apple instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
It was kinda good, but really pretty bland. It would probably be good with apples, or fresh pears. One good thing about this recipe, though, is it was good left-over, and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
We love this recipe! I'm making it again to bring to dinner with my grandparents-in-law. We like lots of spices so I added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Delicious! The gingersnaps I used gave plenty of spicy flavor so I will use less clove and ground ginger next time. Nutmeg sounds like a good addition. I will use both nuts and oatmeal next time in the topping. Pears and gingersnaps... great combination. Baked up well, no extra juice for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
My boyfriend LOVES when I make this, and it was a big hit at my work's holiday party. A few modifications I made: for the topping, I use 1/2 c oatmeal AND 1/2 c chopped walnuts & pecans.. it makes it extra crunchy & extra nutty. Also, I use 3 c fresh pears & 3 c fresh apples. Where the recipe calls for boiling the pear syrup, I make my own syrup with 1 c water, 1/2 cup sugar, & 1/4 brown sugar. I use nutmeg in place of cloves, and added in about 1 tbsp cinnamon. Served HOT with vanilla ice cream.. absolutely delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by even_vegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wolcott, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Not bad but a bit bland, even with the ginger and cloves. If I try this again I'd add cinnamon and kick up the ginger and cloves a touch. I had a LOT of juice in the pan after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States