Ginger Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This is a great way to use up ripe pears! I used about 5-6 very ripe pears which made 2 cups once peeled and diced. Did take longer than 40 minutes to bake on 350f but worth the wait. It was delicious with the chunks of pear visible when the loaf is sliced. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Award winning! Thank you for sharing :) I followed the recipe to a "T" and it was delicious~~The only sad part was it makes one loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This just came out of my oven and it is amazing! I used a drained can of pears instead of fresh pears and just mashed them with a fork. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I thought this was a wonderful treat. Great for breakfast and pairs well with coffee or tea. I added a bit more pear and one banana and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was good. I substituted butter for the oil and 4 egg whites for the eggs. It just made a really really small loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I had received some pears in a gift basket for Christmas, and decided to make bread from some of them. I ended up having to bake a little longer than stated as I had four loaf pans in the oven, but they turned out AMAZING! I was even able to give two of them as gifts, and was told how delicious they were. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I followed the recipe, then had to add 15 mins to the baking time. It was really moist and soft, my husband thought it needed more ginger ..but i liked it the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This just came out of the oven and it smells amazing. I probably added a little more pear then called for (I doubled the recipe and just cut up two large pears from my tree) and I also added some candied ginger (small dice) into the flour before adding it to the pear/oil/egg mixture. I had to bake it for about 25 minutes longer then the recipe called for. But, with a little shuffling around in my oven half way through, it didn't get over done at the edges. After letting it fully cool... this is delicious. Seriously one of the best quick breads ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Keagy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This bread is so good! Only change I made was I had to use canola instead of vegetable oil because that was what I had on hand. I live at a high altitude so I had to bake it an extra 5 minutes and it turned out perfectly. So moist and very flavorful! I shared the recipe with all of my Facebook friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I had two big delicious pears left but their time was running out and I didn't want to toss them. This is by far the best way I could find to use them. I ran out of flour so I replaced 1/2 cup with ground oatmeal I had at hand. I also used egg substitute. Apart from that I followed the measures exactly (even 1/2 tsp salt, which looked a bit suspicious at first). Absolute perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States