Ginger Pear Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Made this in two small loaf pans....fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly, then had to add 10 minutes to the baking time, for it was not yet done after 40 minutes. It came out of oven looking really good, nicely browned, but it was actually too moist, a comment I've never made before, resulting in a soggy bread, and we did not like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This pear bread recipe is a must to have especially if you have a pear tree in your yard. I add two cups of chopped pears and my B&B guests love it. Also I take my cinnamon and sugar shaker and sprinkle it on the sprayed oiled loaf pan and that makes it even more yummy. Gable House B&B, Durango, Co.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Halved the cloves (hubby not a fan) but followed the recipe other than that. I was surprised at how good this was. Wonderful toasted with a bit of butter too. Definitely going to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I did this bread without the cloves (we are just not fans of clove around here). I also used freshly grated ginger, quite a bit of it...like maybe a couple of tablespoons. It was very tasty. I thought the taste improved after a couple of days so when I make this again, I will make a couple days in advance to let the flavors blend. Nice recipe, easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
These are delicious! I made these as muffins and they came out great. Used two pears and added 1/2 cup of walnuts. Yummi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tati
Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is delicious, and it smells amazing, as it's baking. I used somewhere between 1-2 tablespoons of fresh ginger in place of the dried stuff. I replaced the oil with applesauce, eggs with 1/3 cup egg white, and whole wheat flour to lighten the recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This just came out of my oven and it is amazing! I used a drained can of pears instead of fresh pears and just mashed them with a fork. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I thought this was a wonderful treat. Great for breakfast and pairs well with coffee or tea. I added a bit more pear and one banana and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was good. I substituted butter for the oil and 4 egg whites for the eggs. It just made a really really small loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States