Ginger-Lime Chicken with Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was a pretty good dish. I really liked the idea of all the flavors together. Some things to note- you should stir the rice once or twice while it's cooking so it absorbs all the coconut milk, or else it will burn around the edges. Don't cook the chicken until it "browns", it will be overdone. The dish is very colorless... I would recommend adding some red pepper flakes, cashews, a lime twist, and/or even cilantro. I really liked the coconut rice. YUM! Also, I would recommend marinating the chicken longer than 20 min for it to soak up that good flavor. I will try this again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Midway, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
This was pretty good, though a little heavy on the lime. If I make this again I will use the juice from only 1 lime. Also, I only had 1 Tbls of ginger, but it seemed like a good amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lmsenger
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Delicious! So much flavor! I made the coconut rice a little differently. I used 1/2 tsp. of tumeric to give it a beautiful golden brown color. Otherwise did everything this same. I've made many chicken recipes off this site and my husband said this is his favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was a fun meal! I really enjoyed all of the flavors together- I think it's important to have the rice and chicken together in the same bite. If you eat the rice alone, it's a little bland (hence the 4 stars instead of 5). I used brown rice, as usual, and just cooked twice as long. Thanks to the reviewer who suggested stirring the rice a few times during cooking. I think mine would have burned otherwise. The amount of lime was perfect- I would have been good with even more. I added a sprinkle of salt to the chicken as it was marinating. My kids loved the chicken- they both asked for seconds! They didn't like the rice though. We had this with plain broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Very good! I like the "lime-est" of the dish. Visually, not very appealing so we thought that next time we would add some chopped mango and a little bit of cilantro to give the beige dish some color! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
We loved all the flavors together. I used only about 1T ground ginger, a dash of chili powder (hoping for some color), 2 limes zested and juice. I had packaged coconut rice mix, so I can't comment on the coconut rice. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is an absolutely amazing blend of flavors...I ate WAY too much! I'm not a big coconut fan, so did not sprinkle flaked coconut on top, but thought the mild flavor in the rice was just right. I also sauteed some sweet red bell pepper with the chicken for added color and garnished with cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Definitely marinate longer than 20 minutes! Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was a great dinner, and very easy!! The coconut rice (which I made with brown rice) was excellent. In the future I'll make it with one lime instead or marinate it for just 15 minutes, it was a little too acidic for me. Overall it was great! I agree with others that the ingredients are best when eaten in the same bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Rice was too gooey. Next time I'd use a combination of water and coconut milk. The chicken was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States