Ginger-Lime Chicken with Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Delicious dinner. I sweetened it a bit more for my kids. I read the reviews and used them to tweak the recipe also. I used 1 cup coconut milk and 3/4c. water and a full tsp of sugar. It was still sticky, but flavorful. I also added peppers and cooked them along with the chicken and added a little more honey to taste. I garnished with cilantro and unsalted dry roasted peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Kabob'd it! Was looking for something for the grill, so added the honey right to the marinade (a little cilantro, too), threaded the chicken on bamboo skewers and grilled them. The tartness of the lime in the chicken went nicely with the sweetness of the coconut rice. Also, grilled some veggies separately (without the marinade) to complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
2 limes zested is too much. Made it too bitter. I would only use one lime or less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
My family loved this! I added mango and it totally made the dish. I agree about adding red pepper and will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murray, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
So bland! I added garlic, salt and cilantro. It helped a little, but it still wasn't great. I had to add water to the rice to get it to cook. The chicken doesn't brown because there's too much lime juice in the marinade. Don't bother with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
this recipe was great!! the coconut added a subtle sweet taste. i also added toasted sliced almonds to the rice. looove the almond coconut taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This recipe really needed a lot of alterations before it tasted right. Without any of these the chicken is extremely limey and the rice is bland. I added chopped onion with the chicken to saute. We combined the chicken and rice and added 2 canned pineapple rings chopped up, dried cilantro (fresh would have been even better), salt and pepper. Without some alterations I'm not sure that we would have enjoyed the recipe very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was a really yummy dish. The rice took a bit longer to cook than the recipe indicated, and I would suggest doubling the rice so you have plenty - it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
But with the advice from others (replace 3/4 water for 3/4 coconut milk and add tumeric for the rice and add diced red bell peppers and cilantro to the chicken) along with adding a couple fresh garlic cloves to the marinade, I give this 5 stars. Family gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This was delicious. A bit bland visually, so I added a chopped tomato at the last minute for color and extra veggie power. I had made a huge batch of coconut rice for a party and was looking for something to go with it for dinner. This worked out great. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States