Ginger-Lime Chicken with Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
As others have commented, the lime completely overpowers the chicken. I added more honey, some tumeric, but my family still wouldn't eat it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I added another tbsp of honey and used another tbsp of sesame seed oil when I made this. I had leftover chicken so made from cooked chicken and turned out well. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl McPhee Cote

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I had to defrost the chicken so it may have head more liquid in the marinade. When it cane too saute of the chicken I couldn't seen to get rid of the marinade liquid. I think using one lime instead of two would help flavors blend. I did add a half onion and some broccoli. Red peppers would have been a nice color and flavor added. I added a half teaspoon each of curry, chili powder, and a teaspoon of basil. It could use some salt and pepper to bring out flavors. I'll be trying the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen Boyle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Waaay too much lime flavor - it overpowered the rice. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Four stars as is, five with the following changes: as others have noted, the dish is colorless, so I added one red and one yellow pepper cut into matchsticks; 2 carrots, grated; 8 oz fresh spinach; 2 oz chopped cashews, toasted; and a few shakes of red pepper flakes. I just sauteed the vegetables in a little olive oil and then added the sesame oil, chicken and marinade. Also, the chicken never browned because of the marinade - another reason to add some color to the dish. I also toasted the coconut in a teaspoon of butter for more flavor. I used brown rice and lite coconut milk, just to make it healthier. The brown rice needed more liquid, so I watched it carefully and added water as needed, stirring every 10 minutes so it didn't burn at the edges. When the rice was done I added salt to taste. What's great about the recipe as is, is the wonderful ginger and lime flavors and the decadent stickiness of the rice. I know with all these changes that the premise of a quick meal with few ingredients is lost, but I think this would be worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I have made this recipe twice in the past month, that is how much my family enjoys it. I substitute the flaked coconut for shredded carrots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
It was quick and easy! To give it more sustenance and eat less of the rice I added two stalks of broccoli. After stir frying the chicken I removed from the pan and added another tablespoon of sesame oil, heated for about 30 seconds and added the broccoli stir frying for about 1 1/2 minutes. Then I added 1/4 cup of water and covered with a lid to steam the broccoli for about 4 minutes. Then I added two tablespoons of honey (to account that I added the broccoli). I finished it up as instructed. I'm diabetic and have to be conscious of the amount of carbs I eat. Everything has carbs but if I reduce those foods with the highest then I can manage it with my daily meds. Not sure how much sugar is altogether with the coconut milk (I substituted a packet of Splenda too for the 1/2 teaspoon of sugar). But healthy eating, reduction in carbs, daily meds AND daily exercise helps me manage my glucose levels. Anyway, it was good! I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Both my husband and I enjoyed this chicken and rice immensely! It was a bit colorless so i added a side of steamed broccoli to it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I ADDED: - Extra lime juice & ginger to the marinade along w/ raw honey. - Used couscous instead of rice & added a 1/3 c. water & 2 Tbsp. sugar & 1/2 tsp of Sea Salt w/ the coconut milk. - Used vegetable oil instead of sesame (because I was out) & added quite a bit more raw honey, a pinch of cayenne pepper, garlic powder, sea salt & a splash of soy sauce & rice wine vinegar. - Also thinly sliced a red, orange & yellow bell pepper & sauteed them separately w/ just garlic salt and a little more oil & sprinkled chopped cilantro on top of everything. **Reviews were great!! :)**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I did not care for this dish......I found the chicken to be kinda bland...overall I think its missing something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Curried Coconut Chicken

See how to make quick-and-easy curried chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States