Ginger Garlic Paste Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Five stars (with reservations!) - This was excellent for use in Indian butter chicken recipe. But as a general health warning -- garlic infused in oil should NEVER be kept at room temperature or stored in the refrigerator for long periods of time -- it can lead to botulism poisoning. Use this ginger-garlic paste immediately or store in the freezer for future use. The jarred varieties you find in the store all have preservatives in them for just this reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
This helps--I want to make garlic paste to store in freezer--harvesting garlic from my garden right now. So simple! I'll just skip the ginger part of it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
very strong flavor.....one needs only a little bit to go a long ways
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was a bit time consuming to make, but the paste is such a handy thing to have around! I made three parts garlic to four parts ginger so the ginger isn't too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Love it. It's great because on most recipes where there is garlic and ginger, the recipe calls for about equal parts of both every time. So I just combine the amount of garlic and ginger needed and voila! This paste has saved me a lot of chopping time on about 5 occasions so far. So simple I never would have thought of it on my own. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I've bought ginger garlic paste from the store lots of times and this recipe is much cheaper and just as good as any store version. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Used for Butter Chicken, and used jarred ginger and garlic. I'm sure fresh would have been better, but this def served it's purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I needed garlic paste and ginger paste to make Grilled 'Fusion' Pork Chops so I whipped up this paste and it was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
thank you! great paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
FYI you can get Ggarlic ginger paste at any Indian foods market The brand I use is Vimal. Just call your local Indian restaurant and ask them where the nearest market is. They will be glad to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States