Ginger Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
I have been searching and testing many recipes for a ginger sauce that is like those served at hibachi (japanese style steakhouses) restaruants. This so far is the closest I have found with decent measurements. Initially it was too heavy on the soy taste, and so altered the recipe as follows: used 1 tsp bottled lemon juice, used rice vinegar (but white would be fine), added sugar to total 2 tsps., and added 1 tablesspoon of mirin (japanese rice wine, although I think adding a little water to dilute would be ok). I also used a white onion as yellow is sometimes too strong. Fresh ginger is key, as well as a good smooth puree. This is the closest I have come to duplicating the restaruant's version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Yes, this is terrific--I grate the ginger instead of mincing. Start with the exact measurements, then go easy on each ingredient until you've got it nicely to your taste. I like it very much just as written--it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I just had salmon with a ginger sauce at a resturant, came home and tried to replicate it. This was a really good shot at it. I did use this as a marinade for salmon...could have doubled the recipe to have fresh to pour over. I didn't measure the ginger exactly, but it could have used more. Maybe a little less soy sauce. Got 2 compliments from my mom and husband on the flavor. Will make this again with more ginger and try it with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This is the closest I have found to the Japanese Steakhouse type ginger sauce. Definitely don't use a "hot" onion or it will overpower your sauce. I only used 1 T. of soy plus probably an additional tsp. of fresh ginger. Also...very important...it definitely needed more sugar. I doubled the sugar then added a one tsp. of honey. It certainly is VERY close to what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
We found this too thin for a dipping sauce. We used it as a marinade for salmon. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Don't change a thing! Awesome sauce-used for a fondue party I had, we dipped chicken and beef. Would be good for sushi, over grilled chicken or as a salad dressing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Incredibly delicious. leftovers make for a great low-calorie salad dressing. I served it with shrimp, but it didn't have a substantial enough texture for it. will make again (today) but will use low-sodium soy sauce - with regular it was really salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
The flavor was great with this sauce. I will definitely make it again, though I will run it through a sieve before serving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I liked this sauce. I made it for some pot stickers, and totally enjoyed the tangy kick this sauce provided. I used bottled lemon juice, but will real lemons next time. I also pureed the sauce for a while, because it takes some time to really mince the ginger root.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Price, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I'm only giving this a 3 star not because it was bad. It was not to my likng. I do a lot of cooking with ginger and this just didnt do it for me. Judging from other reviews its great stuff so everyone give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States