Ginger Crinkles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This recipe is honestly fool-proof. I've made them twice now. The first time, I accidently left out a whole cup of flour and didn't realize it until I had baked too many to try to fix it. They came out like crinkly molasses cookies, and tasted great. The second time, I got the flour right and they stayed in puffed little balls, more like a ginger snap. So you can pick which you want! Also, the baking time can be adjusted very liberally. I've baked them for as little as 7 minutes to get a crisp outside and chewy center, and up to 15 or 16 to get a true ginger snap. The choice is yours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This cookie has excellent flavor and was very easy to make. I rolled the balls of dough in raw sugar instead of white sugar and they looked really pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Followed recipe but added twice the amount of ginger. Absolutely wonderful cookie! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugamomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forestville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is my favorite gingersnap recipe! I like the fact that it uses oil instead of butter. I sometimes make them with half or all whole wheat; this is one of the few cookie recipes that I have been able to get away with that! To make them pretty for Christmas, I dip them halfway in melted white chocolate. They are out-of-this-world good that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delish! My new ginger cookie! I replaced the white sugar with 3/4 cup brown sugar, and added 1/4 tsp white pepper (black works too) for more kick. IMO, to make these a true "ginger" cookie it needs more than 1 tsp dry ginger, so next time I'll grate some fresh ginger too. 15 minutes would've burnt these. I think 10-11 minutes is a more appropriate cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRISHICAT
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Very good! The dough is super easy to work with. I prefer mine with more spice, so I add 1/2 tsp. of black pepper. Also, I thought they were a little too sweet and I found 3/4 cup of sugar works better for me. Watch the baking time carefully. I like mine a little softer, so I stop baking them just after they crinkle (10-12 minutes.)I took someone else's suggestion and I rolled them in turbinado sugar. They look very pretty. These are great for someone who can't have butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These cookies are the absolute positive BEST...they are crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside (but not too soft)...A definite keeper and I will make these cookies over and over again...THANK YOU so much for sharing this recipe...It is the BEST Ginger type cookie I've come across and I wanted to let folks know that..I baked mine for 10 1/2 to 11 minutes...they came out perfectly and so delicious. The 1/4 cup of sugar listed (before the salt) is used for rolling cookies in before baking them and not meant to be added to the flour mixture...at least that's how I took it to be...also too, may I suggest that you use a fresh box of baking soda when making these great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This is a crunchy but not hard cookie. Even undercooking it by 5 or 6 minutes didn't yield a soft or chewy cookie. It has a good flavor. The dough doesn't have to be refrigerated before forming balls, nor do you have to soften butter for it which makes it a great last-minute recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
A family favorite! A great addition to a Christmas platter. We prefer these to ginger snaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I just joined this site -- which I've been using for years without doing so! -- specifically so I could add another five-star rating for this amazing recipe. I just made what may be the single best batch of cookies ever -- and I'm a very, very experience baker! So, so good!! I worried about the amount of sweetener, using oil, the fact that the baking sheets were to be ungreased, etc, etc etc. But, except for adding 1/2 tsp fresh nutmeg and a scant 1/4 tsp black pepper -- and mixing by hand -- I followed the recipe exactly and the results could not be better! Thank you, Dani, for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States