Ginger Crinkles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Delish! My new ginger cookie! I replaced the white sugar with 3/4 cup brown sugar, and added 1/4 tsp white pepper (black works too) for more kick. IMO, to make these a true "ginger" cookie it needs more than 1 tsp dry ginger, so next time I'll grate some fresh ginger too. 15 minutes would've burnt these. I think 10-11 minutes is a more appropriate cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I had a serious craving for ginger cookies and decided to give these a try. I was curious how cookies without shortening or butter would turn out and I wasn't disappointed...these are fabulous! I didn't use a full cup of sugar and they were plenty sweet. It could just be my oven, but 15 min. bake time was way too much and they were close to burning after 10 min. My only problem around these cookies is self control and not eating the whole batch in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
great recipe! Im always looking for cookies that taste good made with oil. these are terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Wonderful texture and flavors! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This is my favorite gingersnap recipe! I like the fact that it uses oil instead of butter. I sometimes make them with half or all whole wheat; this is one of the few cookie recipes that I have been able to get away with that! To make them pretty for Christmas, I dip them halfway in melted white chocolate. They are out-of-this-world good that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
super good. i was out of molasses so i used maple syrup.... delic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kazie212

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This recipe is honestly fool-proof. I've made them twice now. The first time, I accidently left out a whole cup of flour and didn't realize it until I had baked too many to try to fix it. They came out like crinkly molasses cookies, and tasted great. The second time, I got the flour right and they stayed in puffed little balls, more like a ginger snap. So you can pick which you want! Also, the baking time can be adjusted very liberally. I've baked them for as little as 7 minutes to get a crisp outside and chewy center, and up to 15 or 16 to get a true ginger snap. The choice is yours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I thought this was a pretty good recipe. I used 1/3 cup of molasses to add more kick. I also rolled in powder sugar. I had to say that the recipe saying white sugar was a bit confusing - is that granular sugar or powdered. I assumed granular. also in the recipe the 1/4 cup of sugar is before the salt and perhaps i'm being too literal but that too seemed confusing. However I did not add the 1/4 cup and assumed it was what the dough rolls in. I acutally used powdered and it worked well. So all in all it was a good recipe, but i think the recipe could be a tad more clear! But it tasted really good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
A family favorite! A great addition to a Christmas platter. We prefer these to ginger snaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRISHICAT
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Very good! The dough is super easy to work with. I prefer mine with more spice, so I add 1/2 tsp. of black pepper. Also, I thought they were a little too sweet and I found 3/4 cup of sugar works better for me. Watch the baking time carefully. I like mine a little softer, so I stop baking them just after they crinkle (10-12 minutes.)I took someone else's suggestion and I rolled them in turbinado sugar. They look very pretty. These are great for someone who can't have butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes

These cupcakes are rich with pumpkin and spices and are moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States