Ginger Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Ok now, seriously the best cakes ever! I actually added the breadcrumbs in with the rest of the ingredients but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as written. I'm sure I also used more ginger then required because I love that stuff. You should definitely make them thick, about 1.5-2 inches and fry them. I didn't find that they soaked up too much oil at all. Doing it this way leaves them cooked in the middle but moist and delicious. So delicious we didn't need or want to use the sauce I made to go along with them. I'm a lucky girl because my other half is a dungeness crab fishermen so that's what we used. If you can get your hands on some fresh crab all the better. I also found that not flaking the crab too much adds a lot to the texture and goodness to what I devoured last night. I've tried this recipe a couple other ways and it worked well but does not compare to how I just made them. Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Made these with canned crab. Absolutely fantastic. Probably could have added another can of crab. Very small portions so we were fighting over it. Didn't change a thing except not to add the hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam R-H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Wonderful! As a Canadian, I only got to eat 'real' crab cakes when I visited the US. These are not only real but the best ever! The only change I made was to the final breading when I rolled balls of crab cake mixture and placed then on a plate of bread crumbs, brushed egg on with a pastry brush and turned them over to repeat. instead of oil, I used vegetable spray in a non-stick pan. I will double the recipe the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Ginger is critical to this recipe. It was a complete hit, but since my family likes spice, I added extra ginger. Take care in turning tthe cakes as they are very fragile until turned at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
These crab cakes were delicious! Fresh tasting with all of the ginger, cilantro and lime. The green onions make it perfect. I served these for New Years Day Dinner and they were a hit. I used about a 1/4 cup of chopped fresh cilantro because we like the herb but otherwise everthing else was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Hands down the best I've ever ever ever tasted (and I lived in the Northeast where there are a LOT of crabcakes eaten, hehe). This is THE kind of food we like...traditional dishes with a slight twist not so overpowerful that it obscures the original flavor intended. In this case, the crab flavor mixes wonderfully with the slighty more than subtle taste of ginger..and the aftertaste of the ginger lingers in your mouth. If you do not like ginger, you will not like this recipe. If you like adventurous recipes, you will like this. Be certain to use fresh ginger, NOT ginger spice. The only other hint is to cut down on mayo just a bit. Otherwise, the same old advice about not handling the cakes too much applies, as they easily break apart. (I held the patty in one hand and used the other to cover it with egg, then breading. Gets to be a mess, but would rather have a mess than broken patties). Thanks, Dakota, for this WONDERFUL keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
What a shame I can only give this recipe 5 stars. It deserves many more!! Thanks for sharing this one Dakota. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Echols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Wow these are definitely the best I have ever made! Also they are Fancy restaurant quality! I made a yogurt sauce with lime and more cilantro as my husband likes sauces. Also as I was dipping the cakes in the egg/bread crumb mixture I patted an ever so slight amount into the cake thus holding it together better. I also used french bagette for the crumbs and served the leftover cakes (it was just the two of us) on toasted bagette the next day for lunch. Fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
These crabcakes were excellent -I broiled them and my father who doesn't care for crab cakes ate 2 of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
5 stars for the base recipe...however, I used, 1 - 6oz pkg lump crab & 1 - 6 oz can white crab meat (squeezed dry). If you don't have fresh ginger to grate, I use a pre-jarred fresh ginger paste sold in a small glass jar. I didn't have cilantro but wish I had. I also added a tsp finely grated lime peel w/the lime juice. Subbed bread crumbs with crushed up Panko. Instead of eggs, used 1/2 C of flour mixed w/1 tsp baking powder to initially coat . Used only 1/4 C mayo (mixed with other ingredients) before adding to the crab. Allowed crab mixture to sit in the fridge for an hour. I gently shaped into small (palm sized) patties and lightly coated w/flour mix. Set cakes on waxed paper lined baking sheet; let rest in fridge another 20 minutes. I then pressed them onto crushed up Panko crumbs and let rest again for Panko to adhere well. Fried in 1/2" of veg oil until golden brown on both sides (use 2 spatulas to flip -1 on top, 1 on bottom). Drained on paper towels. Tasted great - crispy outside, moist inside. Great with a squeeze of fresh lemon! Thanks for the idea and a recipe you can alter a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States