Ginger Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is an excellent dish, was very much enjoyed and shall be again. Thanks Dakota for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEDLEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
These were very good, but milder than I expected. The crab flavor was really what came through. This was just about the best crab cake recipe I've found, but if I make it again, I'll probably add a little more ginger (I like enough fresh ginger to give my food heat) and maybe a touch of fresh crushed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
What a shame I can only give this recipe 5 stars. It deserves many more!! Thanks for sharing this one Dakota. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Echols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
Hands down the best I've ever ever ever tasted (and I lived in the Northeast where there are a LOT of crabcakes eaten, hehe). This is THE kind of food we like...traditional dishes with a slight twist not so overpowerful that it obscures the original flavor intended. In this case, the crab flavor mixes wonderfully with the slighty more than subtle taste of ginger..and the aftertaste of the ginger lingers in your mouth. If you do not like ginger, you will not like this recipe. If you like adventurous recipes, you will like this. Be certain to use fresh ginger, NOT ginger spice. The only other hint is to cut down on mayo just a bit. Otherwise, the same old advice about not handling the cakes too much applies, as they easily break apart. (I held the patty in one hand and used the other to cover it with egg, then breading. Gets to be a mess, but would rather have a mess than broken patties). Thanks, Dakota, for this WONDERFUL keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Ginger is critical to this recipe. It was a complete hit, but since my family likes spice, I added extra ginger. Take care in turning tthe cakes as they are very fragile until turned at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was great! All the reviews were accurate. I made it with 16oz of fresh crab meat and a little less mayo. I chopped up some pickeled ginger instead of the grated. I added a little cracked red pepper and hot sauce for a little more kick. I made them in my hands as one reviewer suggested...worked perfectly. I made about 8 patties that were small hamberger size. I shared these with a good friend who loved them and I will definitely cook this again to impress guests. The leftovers were gold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Pretty good. I will definately try this again. Although I will cut down on the mayo a little bit. They do also need "something else"...I'm not sure what yet. Maybe more hot sauce. I will play around with it. I also regret frying them instead of broiling. They soaked up a lot of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Pretty darn good, but I made some changes. I cut down on the crumbs and mayo, because I am from Maryland and we don't like too much filler in our crab cakes. I also used only one egg, and that seemed to work fine. The only addition I made was to add a clove of garlic. Overall, I would say this is pretty good and easy. Next time I will either use pre-crushed ginger to avoid biting into bits of it, or just leave the ginger out altogether. I love ginger, but I don't think it was quite what I wanted in a crab cake. Also, I will add extra sauce next time (I used Pickapeppa sauce) to give it more flavor and kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Wow these are definitely the best I have ever made! Also they are Fancy restaurant quality! I made a yogurt sauce with lime and more cilantro as my husband likes sauces. Also as I was dipping the cakes in the egg/bread crumb mixture I patted an ever so slight amount into the cake thus holding it together better. I also used french bagette for the crumbs and served the leftover cakes (it was just the two of us) on toasted bagette the next day for lunch. Fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
These crab cakes were delicious! Fresh tasting with all of the ginger, cilantro and lime. The green onions make it perfect. I served these for New Years Day Dinner and they were a hit. I used about a 1/4 cup of chopped fresh cilantro because we like the herb but otherwise everthing else was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States