Ginger Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I had a recipe like this, so was glad to find this but changed it a bit to be more as I remembered. You CAN cut the mayo in 1/2. It CAN handle a bit more cilantro. I used canned crabmeat. For me - that's fine. I used 3 cans once and 2 another time. They were slightly smaller and made only a few less. I got about a dozen hamburger sized cakes with 3 cans. GRATE The Ginger to maximize the flavor and omit chunks!! The big change is that I beat the eggs and added panko bread crumbs right into the mix. You can add even more bread crumbs to stretch the recipe a bit more without losing flavor. This keeps it together well and I think allows for the canned crabmeat better. Certainly easier to cook up. I don't usually leave feedback when I change up a recipe so much, but I was hoping it might be found helpful. Now to find the sweet cream sauce that went with the original recipe I had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These were good, but if you aren't a fan of of fresh ginger, you won't like them. I followed the recipe exactly except substituted cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs because that's what I had on hand. Very messy to make but browned nicely and looked beautiful when done. They went well with a tangy coleslaw with pineapple. They had a nice fresh taste and if I make them again, I think I'll use less ginger (and I love ginger!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I really liked the extra kick the ginger gave, these were probably some of the best that I've ever made by myself. I also broiled them, came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This was great! All the reviews were accurate. I made it with 16oz of fresh crab meat and a little less mayo. I chopped up some pickeled ginger instead of the grated. I added a little cracked red pepper and hot sauce for a little more kick. I made them in my hands as one reviewer suggested...worked perfectly. I made about 8 patties that were small hamberger size. I shared these with a good friend who loved them and I will definitely cook this again to impress guests. The leftovers were gold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I will have to say this was my first ever attempt at making crab cakes. They were a huge hit! Everyone loved them even my mother-in-law who is not a crab cake person loved them. Thank for sharing this recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Ginger is critical to this recipe. It was a complete hit, but since my family likes spice, I added extra ginger. Take care in turning tthe cakes as they are very fragile until turned at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Made these with canned crab. Absolutely fantastic. Probably could have added another can of crab. Very small portions so we were fighting over it. Didn't change a thing except not to add the hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam R-H

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Karen, Nairobi, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Wonderful! As a Canadian, I only got to eat 'real' crab cakes when I visited the US. These are not only real but the best ever! The only change I made was to the final breading when I rolled balls of crab cake mixture and placed then on a plate of bread crumbs, brushed egg on with a pastry brush and turned them over to repeat. instead of oil, I used vegetable spray in a non-stick pan. I will double the recipe the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Ok now, seriously the best cakes ever! I actually added the breadcrumbs in with the rest of the ingredients but otherwise followed the recipe exactly as written. I'm sure I also used more ginger then required because I love that stuff. You should definitely make them thick, about 1.5-2 inches and fry them. I didn't find that they soaked up too much oil at all. Doing it this way leaves them cooked in the middle but moist and delicious. So delicious we didn't need or want to use the sauce I made to go along with them. I'm a lucky girl because my other half is a dungeness crab fishermen so that's what we used. If you can get your hands on some fresh crab all the better. I also found that not flaking the crab too much adds a lot to the texture and goodness to what I devoured last night. I've tried this recipe a couple other ways and it worked well but does not compare to how I just made them. Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Pretty darn good, but I made some changes. I cut down on the crumbs and mayo, because I am from Maryland and we don't like too much filler in our crab cakes. I also used only one egg, and that seemed to work fine. The only addition I made was to add a clove of garlic. Overall, I would say this is pretty good and easy. Next time I will either use pre-crushed ginger to avoid biting into bits of it, or just leave the ginger out altogether. I love ginger, but I don't think it was quite what I wanted in a crab cake. Also, I will add extra sauce next time (I used Pickapeppa sauce) to give it more flavor and kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States