Ginger Chicken with Cashews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Let's start by saying that there isn't any left in my family of three. But..It's as salty as a salted salt stick from Salty the salted sailor. I think that's just way too much soy sauce mixed with the chicken broth. I was able to rescue by spooning in a couple of spoons of creme fraiche (most awesome french gunk ever) I'd use 1/4 cup soy and 1/4 cup of hoisin next time and cut in about a tablespoon of garlic powder, but I add garlic powder to everything and you should too so I can feel validated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt Laz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keansburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I'm giving this 4 stars because we all liked it and that's including a 7 & 4 year old. I do agree that it's too salty as is though. Next time I will use low sodium soy or broth and add some garlic and red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maple Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I thought this was delicious. I only gave it four stars because I changed some things. I used hoisin sauce instead of soy sauce. Hoisin sauce has soy sauce in it but tastes better than soy sauce. I used half teaspoon of ginger and half teaspoon of curry powder. I did not use sesame oil or sesame seeds because I did not have them. I served this with rice and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Excellent - needs low Na+ chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I did make a few changes to make it vegan and reduce the sodium. I substituted tempeh for chicken. I left out the broth and corn starch completely. I used low sodium soy and halved it. I used this as filling for lettuce wraps. The crisp lettuce was a nice contrast. We garnished with sriracha. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
This was excellent! It needed more sesame seeds so I garnished with black seeds. My only problem with it is that it was a bit salty. Next time I will use chicken stock, which is less salty than broth, and perhaps reduced-sodium soy sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was great! I used 1 Trader Joe's chicken packet with 1.5 cups of water and less soy sauce and it still tasted good but wasn't too salty. I used frozen broccoli and cauliflour and sliced fresh zucchini that I added with the sauce. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Very good, this is what I've been looking for, I might add pineapple chunks next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
We actually thought this dish was bland. I think using fresh ginger root or chopped ginger in a jar would have been better than ground ginger. We used reduced-sodium bouillon and soy sauce, so we didn't have a salt issue as others had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I loved it...but I would use low sodium soya sauce and low sodium chicken broth..it is however very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States