Ginger Carrot Soup by Jean Carper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Humes Olson
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I only used 1/2 of 1 onion. When it was done, it was completely overpowered by the orange juice taste, so I cooked another carrot in some broth, pureed it, and added it in to get the carrot flavor back again! Very tasty after tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Humes Olson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
i can only give 4 stars because i made some changes. first, i only made it with 1 onion and real cream with the juice of 1 orange, second, i added less cream cause it didnt need after the orange juice.this recipie is sooooooooooo good with those changes. I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Yummy! Served it cold with garlic chives sprinkled on top. I did cut the OJ to 1/4 cup which I think helped to emphasize the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I make a similar carrot soup to this but only 1 onion and cut orange juice (fresh) back to half a cup. Also add some grated orange rind before serving. This way the orange does not overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
awful, family hated it and had to poor down the drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Two onions is too many for this recipe. Mine came out very oniony, overpowering the carrot taste. I suggest adding just one onion. Also, while the cinnamon adds a nice touch of flavor, the brown-tinted spice discolors the soup. Mine went from a deep hearty orange to an unappetizing ochre after the addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I don't know what I could have done to make this recipe less then a 1 star. With the ingredients that we all like, but something went terribly wrong, It couldn't have been any worse. A waste of good food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I liked this recipe, but I did change a lot about it. Instead of cutting up my vegetables, I pureed them in my blender (I wanted a creamy soup without chunks). I didnt use actual chicken broth. Instead I used 1 1/2 cup of half and half. I replaced the chicken broth with chicken broth flavoring, using one teaspoon. The orange juice idea scared me, so I only added about 1/4 cup of orange juice. I also ended up adding more cinnamon. But this is a great recipe to follow if you know what you are doing and you love adding extras!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Wish I'd read the reviews first. My instincts said that the oj would overpower it and it did. How can so many rate this 4 stars, then change the recipe so much?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is a tasty soup! I did make a few changes, however: 1 onion instead of 2, used a liberal amount of "pumpkin spice" instead of just cinnamon (pumpkin spice = cinnamon, nutmeg, and something else?), added one tsp. of salt, fresh ginger instead of candied, two dashes of cayenne pepper for spice, the juice of one fresh navel orange instead of OJ, and lastly, I used 1/4 cup real whipping cream and a little bit of skim milk. I will definitely make this again! Be sure to blend it well; the end result is better than at some of the top restaurants I've eaten in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States